Discovering the Buddha anew. Reflections of a traveller in Thailand.

in #philosophy7 years ago

While we are traveling in Bangkok, several posters got my attention. The posters were placed mainly on the main roads from/to the airports, as if they are the warning for the visiting tourists as well as reminders for locals. As often happens in my life they seemed to echo my own thoughts that me and my husband discussed a few days earlier in Chiang Mai.

’You learn something every day if you pay attention.'
Ray LeBlond

I'm not a Buddhist, the same time I have very deep feelings for Buddhism and much of this teaching is very related to my vision of the world. I respect and value the teachings of the Buddha a lot and my intention is rather to bring more attention to what I found for my self rather than to criticise anything.

My trip in Thailand somehow illuminated my vision with new discoveries and became a pledge of some reflections on the modern use of Buddha’s image and teachings, which is my article for today.

"
The social advertising poster on the way to Suvarnabhumi Airport, Bangkok, Thailand
Image Source


The One, who taught not to be attached to anything


Image Source

“I’ve never seen so many Buddha statues, "

I said as we walk along Chiang Mai a few days earlier. Having more than 300 temples, it is one of the most religious sights in the whole of Thailand. Therefore you find temples and Buddha’s statues everywhere. And it's not that I do not like looking at them, I do very much. I like to peer at the faces of these statues catching the slightest subtleties on them. Some of them have a smile on their face, some have sadness, some are of quite an impressive size or pictured in a very interesting position. I always wonder what is behind the idea of the artist who made it, what he felt while he was working in it?

output_4pyBRK.gif
Buddha’s statues in different monasteries. Photos by @SashaGenji gif made withgifmaker.me

At the same time, I am surprised by something else. I wonder why are there so many? And why do they even stand here? Does not the very concept of "Buddha's statue" contradict his teaching that a person should not be attached to anything, including the Buddha itself? Maybe this diversity of images is just another manifestation of the human desire to have more and be better than the other? And the more monasteries we visit, the sadder I become.

IMG_3778.JPG
Wat Chedlin Temple, Chang Mai, Thailand. Photo @SashaGenji

For me, a monastery, regardless of its form, whether Christian, Buddhist temples, a mosque, a cave, the ruins of former buildings or something else is primarily a place where you feel special energy and where you can truly be yourself and feel a connection to others. There is no need for conductors in the form of additional attributes (statues, priest, candles, etc), here everything exists because of your connection with the world and the world’s connection with you.

Image Source

In Chang Mai I am walking through many of the places, and I do not feel this connection, all I see is a flashing kaleidoscope of golden statues and the enormous amount of tourists trying to capture another picture they will hardly open even once more in their life.

IMG_9583.JPG
Wat Chedi Luang Temple, Chiang Mai, Thailand. Photo by @SashaGenji

Does no one think of why this place exists in the first place? Why the monks spend hours in meditations? What is it all about?

And in my head, the thought that the Great Master became a hostage to the irrepressible human desire to become attached to something is creeping up.

IMG_1810.JPG
The Buddha Halls in Wat Pho, Bangkok, Thailand. Photo by @SashaGenji


If you want to go to the Temple - pay

These, monks, are seven forms of wealth.
The wealth that is confidence (saddhā),
the wealth that is virtue (sīla),
the wealth that is conscience (hiri) and remorse (ottapa),
the wealth of listening (suta), generosity (cāga),
with discernment (paññā) as the seventh form of wealth.
Buddha Quote Source

Another incomprehensibility for me is paid entrance to the Temples. And the prices are valid only for foreigners. I am glad that it exists not in every monastery, but the main ones - for sure. I do not mind it, but still somehow weakly mingles with the teachings of the Buddha himself, for whom the wealth of the soul was more important than material wealth.

As if again echoing my thoughts, we find ourselves in an amazing little monastery, in which there is no paid entrance, where an elderly monk greets me with a kind smile. There are no fences where I can walk, and where I can not. Here everything is open and monks and rare tourists roam about this place absolutely on an equal ground. There is very little of this golden theme here, but there is some amazing sense of absolute calmness and happiness. It seems that time and “the real world” although it is few steps away does exist somewhere in a different dimension.

IMG_1660.JPG
The decoration in the Wat Chedlin
Temple. Chang Mai, Thailand. Photo by @SashaGenji


To buy the Buddha

I'm wondering what the Buddha himself would say if he saw that the statues with his image can be bought almost everywhere?

Image Source

At what point the Buddha became a commodity, probably no one will remember. Now you can find his image everywhere.

There shops that sell the statues:

Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 7.37.10 PM.jpg
Image Source

People use it to decorate the house:

Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 7.37.24 PM.jpg
Image Source

Or even decorate bathrooms:

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 6.56.13 PM.jpg
Image Source

To sit on:

Image Source

To wear:

Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 12.41.58 PM.jpg
Image Source

Or even become the One as the slogan on this product says:

Screen Shot 2017-10-11 at 6.53.47 PM.jpg

Image Source

Someone will interpret it even more extravagant:

Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 7.38.07 PM.jpg
Image Source

Looking at all of this I sadly think that people who put the posters promoting a correct way of using the Buddha images are right - the world needs a reminder that there are things more important than money and that sometimes you just need to stop for a moment and think about what are you doing. And it is not only about tourists coming to visit Thailand.

I really liked their clarifying campaign on www.knowingbuddha.com about Dos and Don'ts on Buddha.


What do I want to say with this article?

  • Let's remember that Buddha is really NOT a decoration.(worlds (c)www.knowingbuddha.com ).

  • That he is NOT another way to make money.

  • That he embodies important aspects of Buddhism and the correct use of his images is an act of simple respect to millions of Buddhists.

    Screen Shot 2017-10-12 at 7.08.09 PM.jpg
    Image Source

  • And finally, that Buddha is one of the Great Teachers who talked about simple and important things.

    Image Source

And maybe then we can understand that the meaning of his teaching is not in worshiping his numerous statues, but in implementing the essence of ideas that the Great Master left behind.

Just as a mother would protect
her only child with her life,
even so let one cultivate
a boundless love towards all beings.
Buddha

Image Source

With love,

@Sasha Genji

@sashagenji_signiature_Steemit.jpg

Ecotrain.png
@ecotrain #ecotrain

I support @ecotrain project, which also use #ecotrain. I want to believe that more and more people will start to think about things that help to make the world a better place. (с)@ecotrain. I also hope that more and more writers on Steemit will support the movement started by @eco-alex and @icmultitudes . As I truly believe that we are one and helping others means you are helping yourself.

Click here to read more post from the passengers on the EcoTrain

OR

Join Ecotrain members on Slack

Sort:  

Whenever God comes and gives a new religion to mankind,
immediately the devil comes and makes a church out of it.
John McLaughlin

That is so true!! I have never came across this saying but I can 100% agree%) Thank you for my new discovery%))<3

Thanks, going to steal this quote for my next article ;p

Wow! Such a profound quote and it has soo many figurative meanings. Love it!

Wow Sasha! I love the way you think. You always have something new, interesting and beautiful to offer. The paid entrance to monasteries, temples and mosques bothers me too. It is the same here too. To get into the beautiful mosques, you have to get a ticket first. And then the many judgments that are placed inside it make you doubt the basis of that religion. The many mullas and religious preachers here are the same. Islam is a very non-judgmental religion too but many of those who preach it are exactly the opposite.

To be honest, more I look, more I see that all religions have become a business rather than anything else%(( The same time nothing stops us of finding the God(the Force, Energy whatever you call it) in us%))

Image Source

The business thing is so true. Religious scholars and preachers try to cash on their knowledge and for that, many of them go to such heinous lengths that I can't even describe.

Congratulations @sashagenji! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Wow! This is a fantastic article, and touches on a topic I have been thinking about a lot lately, and even am trying to write a post about. Essence is essential, the physical fades, horde not your treasures in this world!

Bless you Sasha, Love and Light!

I love to hear that you think about the same things%)) I feel that recently I am blessed to be surrounded by like-minded people like you%) I "resonate" with lots of your posts as well and will be looking forward to reading the one you are writing on the same topic.

Image Source

I so much love and echo your thoughts, most of the spiritual places in today's time are made so flashy. Do you really need any idol to feel comnected to supreme divine, absolutely not. Simplicity is lost these days. The more grand the temples the more worshippers it has and more money business. Its sad but this is the truth

It is both sad and the truth. I agree with you, dear @nainaztengra. But I am a beliver that simplicity will be brough back with more people getting understanging what is real and what is not%))

Image Source

.. such a GreaT PosT !! - ))

The Buddha .. taught "one" THIN'g .. that has "two" pieces (( sides, perfect reflections)) .. T'HERE is "suffering" !!
... & t'HERE is a way OUT of SUFFERING !!! - )))

= releasing ALL "attachments", through "FO(c)US & EQUANIMITY" ... meaning meditation, d'ONE with the 'correct' foCus ((= as it is = ALL VIBRATION + ALL-WAYS CHANGING)) & equanimity (( everything "comes", to pass = this will also change .. BE at PE(a)CE !! ))

Recognizing there is suffering .. step one - ))
K(now-in)G there MUST BE .. a way out .. step two - ))
.. will all ways lead to LIBERATION !! - ))
(ie) .. de'LIBERATE creation .. VS .. creation by de'FAULT !! - ))

"IF" d'ONE = practiced .. in the correct way .. step THREE - ))
3 = "C" .. = SEE the "right-side" opeNing - )))

HERE to CREATE RE(aLi)TY !?!?!?!?! - ))
or .. ?? - ((
HERE to "face" re(AL-i)ty ??? -)))

CHOICE .. that few recognize "they" have .. due to "attachment" .. to "TIME" .. the idea of "TIME" .. when tHERE is !!! ONLY !!! NOW .. all-ways TO DAY !!! - )))
.. 'today' always expanding .. always NEW !! - ))

ha ha .. FUN !! - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

I love your cheerful but meaningful comments! Thank you for stopping by and writing such a nice one here%)) I am still amazed each time I met someone so creative as you are! That makes me feel very good as I do believe that when we are creative we express the very best part of us. I loved the language you speak. Be blessed!

Image Source

.. i'm sorry - ((
.. i've been away - ))

WhaT a BE'a'U'Ti-FULL COmMEnT !! - ))
.. thank'S ALLoT - )))))))))))
ha ha .. ( blushing ) !! - ))))))))))
! - ))

This is a lovely post .. and i LOVE this picture !! - ))

.. thanks for being YOU ! - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

I guess if everyone will be their self the world will shine in creativity%)) I loved this picture too and this is why it was a part of my post. I really hope that one day the relationship between human and animals would look like it! Thank you and much love to you! I really love reading your comments written in such a unique way%))

Image Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48