Thought Of The Day- Is working class defined by culture or income?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

mines.png
I have always thought of myself as working class. I grew up on a council estate, I live in an old mining village and I don't think of myself as any other. My family were all working class before me.

My income, although now fluctuates (The joys of self employment!) Has always been slightly above what is considered working class or average income, but did that ever make me middle class? Not in my eyes but where do you draw the line?

Should there even be a line?

Over to you......

Sort:  

The working class is determined by its culture and habits. I am from the Czech republic, a country that suffered under the communist regime for 40 years. During that era, thousands of gifted people were forced to quit their jobs and among them were artists, teachers, doctors and so on. Those people had to work somewhere and they were forced to become keeping ladies and handyman or factory workers for instance. But still they kept their attitude and did never mix up with their new collegues. Most of them emigrated later on.

To be or not to be a working class member is not about income or profession. It is about your attitude.

I totally agree with you on this... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43