Non-Boring Philosophy: The Introduction

in #philosophy6 years ago

Here's the introduction for the first non-boring philosophy posts on (my) Steemit:

A couple years ago, I joked with my room-mate about having "shower-god" in the bathroom. The reason for that: I tend to come up with awesome ideas when I'm taking a shower - apart from improving my vocal-skills.

Yesterday it was time again, I was just about to use the soap and I somehow thought that...

...philosophy is usually kinda boring - old, lame, heavy, hard to read and to contemplate... As if it has been overtaken by the speed of our world.

Yet, I believe philosophy is something that's so needed in our society especially now. We are in a time, where more and more people look for answers in other places than solely in rationalism.

To me, philosophy isn't a black-and-white-left-brain-organised-thought. It's the colorful right-brain-artist-mess. It breaks rules. Shakes up our realities. Gives us different perspectives....

...perspectives on life to which the left brain is often simply too retarded for (sorry left-brain, I love you, but you've led me down too many times on the following topics). For example love, compassion, genuine connections, relationships, life and some more things that are not bitcoin.

Here's what I love about it: Philosophy doesn't draw as much from knowledge. But from wisdom. A wisdom that somehow touches us beyond black and white, right or wrong, good and evil.

Now, I firmly believe we need both in life. Science AND creativity. The left AND the right brain. (In fact or perhaps it's the combination of both that allows us to thrive.)

There are people who make science attractive. 

So I thought; what if I'd make philosophy attractive? Not so freaking boring, like those poems with words you need a dictionary for.

No - but philosophy with some humor. With some freshness and youth in it. Easy to read. Lightness to contemplate.

I stepped out of the shower. And decided.

This will be the first post of non-boring philosophy. And it's to be continued... Tomorrow... and as long as it's appreciated. And if you like that, then welcome on board. We're going to have a lot of fun together ;)

Sam

Sort:  

I started a philosophy series when I first came to Steemit, I really should get back to it. I called it Confused Philosophy lol. Mainly because I was confused about what it actually was so I decided to teach myself the basics lol. I must have got bored or busy as I stopped after three posts but its a good one to get back to one day. Enjoy it.

haha,yes I will see where this will go.. :)

In truth, the subject of philosophy is not easy, you should look for a better way to explain it, hahaha

oh yes.. mission accepted :P

I took my first philosophy course as a freshman in college. The professor went around the room and asked us our perceptions on life. I gave mine and he waved his hand in dismissal and said, 'Oh, Plato."

I was deeply offended because I had come to it all on my own! Hadn't read Plato yet, or any of the other great philosophers. I knew right then I wasn't going to learn much from him, and I didn't, but he gave us a good reading list!

So yes, if you can make philosophy attractive I'm in!

haha, oh god, I haven't read plato either.. Did I miss something? Am I allowed to be a philosopher without knowing the books of plato?

Oh my dear - you simply must read Plato! (jk) His basic premise is that what we see in the world is like shadows from a campfire reflected on a cave wall. Not real, just our perception of what is real. Now you know enough about Plato to get on with.

I've read a lot of philosophers, couldn't tell you now much of what they're about. But for pure pleasure I enjoy the Discourses of Epictetus. Here are a few of his quotes

It's not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters.
Men are disturbed not by things, but by the view which they take of them.
There is only one way to happiness and that is to cease worrying about things which are beyond the power of our will.
The key is to keep company only with people who uplift you, whose presence calls forth your best.

Do any of these sound familiar?
Note that he is not Epicurus, as in Epicurean, whose philosophy was pleasure is good, pain is bad. Epictetus is a bit more complex but a fun read.

**Disclaimer: I am not a real philosopher nor do I play one on TV.

Hey Donna, haha, it sounds all familiar yes, but not from those names (although they have beautiful names).. but more from... kinda, just observing life.

Perhaps I will have to find my own word for it. Samosophy... then I could get around with it... ;P

Well, I started out telling you how annoyed I was with my professor for dismissing my very own life view as Bah! Sneer! Plato! So I think it is a very good idea to name your own with no reference at all to any other philosopher, living or dead! It's your very own life view and philosophy and I bet it's going to be very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64