After reading this, you will understand what is love? What is marriage? What is happiness? What is an affair? What is life

in #philosophy6 years ago

One day, Plato asked Socrates: what is love? Socrates said: I ask you to cross this piece of rice fields, to pick one of the largest and most golden wheat back, but there is a rule: you can not go back, and you can only pick once. So Plato went on. After a long time, he was back with empty hand. Socrates ask him why come back with empty? Plato said: When I walked in the field, I had seen a few particularly special bright wheat, but I always think there may be bigger and better in front, so there is no pick; but when I continue walking, see the wheat, always feel it is not better than the previous which i had seen, so I did not pick anything finally. Socrates said meaningfully: this is love.

Another day, Plato asked Socrates: what is marriage? Socrates said: I ask you to cross this piece of wood, to cut a thickest and most solid tree back to the room to do the Christmas tree, but there is a rule: you can not go back, and you can only cut once. So Plato went on. After a long time, he brought a tree back which is not the tallest but not the worst. Socrates asked him why he only cut such a tree back. Plato said: when I cross the woods, I saw a few very good trees, this time, I learned a lesson from last experience of picking wheat, saw that this tree is not bad, and I chose it. I am afraid that if I do not choose it, I will miss the opportunity to cut the tree and empty-handed, although it is not the best I met. At this time, Socrates said meaningfully: this is marriage.

And once again, Plato asked Socrates: what is happiness? Socrates said: I ask you to cross this field, to pick one of the most beautiful flowers, but there is a rule: you can not go back, and you can only pick once. So Plato went on. Long after, he holds a compare beautiful flower came back. Socrates asked him: Is this the most beautiful flower? Plato said: When I crossed the field, I saw this beautiful flower, I took it off, and I believe that it is the most beautiful. When I saw a lot of beautiful flowers later, I still insist on my belief that this is the most beautiful, and no longer shake. So I pick this flower and came back. At this time, Socrates said meaningfully: this is happiness.

One day, Plato asked his teacher Socrates, what is an love affair. Socrates asked him to go to the woods again, and this time you can go back and forth on the way, took the most beautiful flower back. Plato went out confidently.
Two hours later, Plato came back with good spirits, hold a flower which has a perfect look but a little fade. Socrates asked:”Is this the best flower?” Plato answered:”I found two hours and found that it was the most beautiful flower, but when i on the road back, it gradually withered down”, At this time, Socrates told him:”That is the affair.”

And another day, Plato asked Socrates: What is the life?
Socrates asked him to go to the woods again, can walk back and forth on the way, to take a best look flower on the way.
With the previous lessons, Plato went out confidently.
Three days and nights passed, he did not come back. Socrates had to go into the woods to find him, and finally found that Plato has camped in the woods. Socrates asked him,”Have you found the best flower?” Plato pointed to a flower beside him and said, “This is the best flower.” Socrates asked:”Why not take it out?”
Plato answered,”If I take it off, it will wither immediately, and even if I do not pick it, it will wither sooner or later, so I live beside it while it is still in full bloom. when it fades, then I find the next one. This is the second time I found the best flower.”
At this time, Socrates told him:”You already know the true meaning of life.”

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97