You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making a Mindclone of ourselves, is Steemit paving the way for Transcendence?

in #philosophy8 years ago

ooh, you should let this nerdette out more often! (I am not demeaning your other posts. I upvote them quite often!) There is a variant of sci-fi you might also like called "speculative fiction" and you have already probably heard of it. It's basically a way to blend genres together into something new.

forgive me for backing up and making a China-related comment. But, I figure that you know both cultures and might appreciate. For me, it's fascinating to live in China right now. It seems this country I am living in went from outright banning science fiction to not only accepting it, but also producing a writer like Liu Cixin who then wins the Hugo award for best science fiction novel. I know 100% of my blogging activity is about China, but it's fascinating to be an outsider and having a front row seat to a culture that is so rapidly changing.

As for the concept of the singularity and what some call "post-humanism," it is sometimes hard to deny that direction sometimes. Chip sizes keep getting smaller and more powerful, and then there are now blockchains and the internet of things.... and I am just guy with a bunch degrees in English and knew nothing about this stuff six months ago. To me, that's not only funny, but an indicator about how much disruptive technological change is working its way into everyday life.

Sort:  

China seems to make rapid progress on anything that they choose to support. I would argue that the potential was always there, it was just suppressed by repressive regime.

I would agree with that, totally. The culture and the imagination has been there for thousands of years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46