You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Desperation for Change and the Desire to Happen 'NOW'

in #philosophy7 years ago

I think anyone who is paying attention is despondent. However one needs to recognize that to turn the folly of generations around will take generations to do so. As I am desperate for change, I see that it will take deliberate care and assertive influence to retrain ourselves and the next generations. For example: don't go to BWW, go to your local co-op, buy a steak and learn to cook.

I have felt powerless to effect any sort of change, which is why I have adopted the concept of creating a pocket or "index" of liberty in my local community. I have started a seed garden and plan to save from my current job to buy a plot of land to begin a small market farm. I think the country will fall into despair. I have refused to allow my community to fall like the Shire at the end of Lord of the Rings.

In the beginning after "being red pilled" in late '07, I saw that my family was being foolish with money. My mother and grandmother decided to build a duplex at the height of the housing market. Then in 2008 the housing market crashed. My college fund (thank god for not being able to go to college) and my inheritance (damn) was lost in a very short time. My family had learned nothing from marketing, loan ratings, and how money works. They simply doubled down.

So yes, I have felt years of helplessness. However I'm not the type to lay down and die. I studied, I practiced, I saved, and now am becoming a flourishing Renaissance Man. There are times where I feel guilty about being in that learned helplessness state, as I had wasted years of my life in a needless depression. Having come out of that, I have learned that all my life could burn down around me, as long as I have my mind I will have the knowledge to rebuild.

Sort:  

Yeah the future looks dire as we trample on towards the edge of the cliff... Thanks for the feedback, you look like you're doing well in planning ahead ;) Good luck in your efforts to educate your family and community.

Having come out of that, I have learned that all my life could burn down around me, as long as I have my mind I will have the knowledge to rebuild.

Indeed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15