Money and health, is there a trade-off?

As you might remember I'm always looking to buy a new hearing aid. Hearing is important to me - ha - and sure, looking to improve if technology can afford me this luxury, I feel that I need to take it.
But something does not feel right to me, when people keep saying that you should put your health before your money.

Are they right?

images.jpg

It's a thing people tell me every time: What is 2000e when you can hear better?

Fair enough but I like to think in terms of relative improvement. IS the improvement over my 1000e, 2 year old aid, worth the extra 2000e? And many people are like " Every little improvement is worth it!".

Look, maybe I'm a bit soulless here but that's certainly not true. 2000e is a lot of money for me and my life satisfaction with this aid is already pretty high. Will I make more money with a new aid? Will I have more confidence?

Maybe, but maybe not. The problem is that it's hard to quantify this. Some would just do it, after all what's this? A new iPhone and change! Some will not believe how expensive this is. And for Romania, it's huge!
But if you have the money, isn't it stupid NOT to do it?! What are you saving for?!

In the end, for me, not knowing exactly what improved I'll be seeing by buying this pushes me to get it. Maybe it will deliver what I dream of: hearing people on the phone, listening to podcasts and generally talking with people in noisy environments. The promise is there but the reviews are mixed. So, only one way to find out.

So here I am, looking at this decision made so much easier by you guys. Seriously, everyone here helped me look at this aid and say, hey, maybe I'll buy it! Your upvotes help, your comments helps. I'm just trying to figur it out by putting in on paper.

Next time, I'll tell you about this new aid I found. I'm sure some of you - cough - want to hear all about it :D

Sort:  

Congratulations @razvanelulmarin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93