Absurdism and Cryptocurrency. How do they connect?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Many of us have probably asked ourselves these philosophical questions- What is the meaning of life? Do we matter? Does anything matter?

According to Absurdism, the answers are life has no meaning and in the grand scheme of things, nothing matters. Absurdism is the belief that human beings exist in a purposeless, chaotic universe. It shares roots with existentialism and nihilism. Most people believe absurdism was founded by Albert Camus, but this is not true. Absurdism was founded by Søren Kierkegaard, a century before Camus.

Here is one of his piece-
"What is the Absurd? It is, as may quite easily be seen, that I, a rational being, must act in a case where my reason, my powers of reflection, tell me: you can just as well do the one thing as the other, that is to say where my reason and reflection say: you cannot act and yet here is where I have to act…. The Absurd, or to act by virtue of the absurd, is to act upon faith … I must act, but reflection has closed the road so I take one of the possibilities and say: This is what I do, I cannot do otherwise because I am brought to a standstill by my powers of reflection."
–Kierkegaard, Søren, Journals, 1849

Absurdism can be quite an overwhelming concept that leads a lot of people to insanity or depression. Albert Camus did end up committing suicide. But the thing about Absurdism is that it gives us an option. As absurdism teaches that you should both accept the meaninglessness in everything and yet should rebel against the concept by finding your own meaning. I know, contradictory. The idea is if nothing matters then in a way anything matters. If 0*0 gives us zero then why not multiply it by other numbers. It's still going to give us zero but we have an infinite amount of possibilities to get to that zero. I don't know if that makes sense, probably not. What I am trying to say is that you can find what matters to you, whether that be your family, friends, food, music, movies, partying, get high till you reach the sun, if it matters to you, then it matters.

You probably asking, what could this have to do with cryptocurrency? Well, everything in a sense. Ever since the start of cryptocurrency with Bitcoin in 2009, people have been saying this a farce, it's meaningless, it's a bubble, they will regret wasting their money. The funny part of this, those people always get the of looking like idiots. They do not know the secret to cryptocurrency, it is that we believe in it, it matters to us. We see its potential and we chose to believe in it over the chaotic universe that is our government. This is why when they said bitcoin was a joke, it went to $500 when they said it was farse went to $1,000 when they said it was a bubble, it went to $5,000 when they said it was a Ponzi scheme, it went to $15,000.

The reason I included a Rick and Morty picture was that my original plan was to make a post titled Absurdism, Rick and Morty, and Cryptocurrency. How do they connect?I choose not to do this so the post wouldn't be too long.

I hope you guys love the post. This would be my fourth post on Steem and I plan to write more. Resteem if you like it, I want to get this to has much people as possible

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has upvoted and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Absurdism
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

I actually think there is meaning to life and creation.

BUT

From a purely dueling-of-words perspective, perhaps the best answer to the question "What is the meaning of life?" is "Why does there have to be meaning?"

:)

Nice post.

Lol, I believe there is meaning to life myself. While I do agree with some aspects of absurdism like the world been chaotic and how control sometimes can be an illusion, but I do believe there is a meaning. I was just writing in an objective manner. Thanks for the observation though, much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69