You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paragons of thought ( part 1 )

in #philosophy7 years ago

Man, what a meaty post. “… for this discovery of yours will create forgetfulness in the learners’ souls…”

To which I draw the parallel of technology, google searches, wiki, phones and tablets that generate answers to questions in an instant, and what I think is “the dumbing down” of society ironically through instant information/gratification.

But then again, what do I know, nothing. What do you think about that?

Sort:  

Well... I think that you are onto something actually! If Socrates was skeptical towards writing then I don't think he would have much to add in regard to our modern technological marvels.

I totally agree with you on that, the ease of having nearly all the knowledge in the world in an instant comes with a serious cost and the effects of that are not immediately realized in a single generation.

And it goes the other way as well. Since it's very easy to put information out there the number of dubious info has also risen. Critical thought, a healthy amount of skepticism and appreciation of what is worthy are our weapons of choice here!
Thank you for commenting here @puravidaville! I wish you stick by and check my later post dedicated on the French philosopher Jacues Ellul. I think you will find his concerns very relevant with the issue you have raised here.
Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55