For Anyone But Ourselves, We Are The "Strange Aliens"

in #philosophy5 years ago

A few years ago, when I was in high school, I was sitting in my physics class. It was early in the morning, the teacher was kind of boring, I was tired, but then suddenly something happened and I realized what this entire "We are not just descendent of monkeys, we are monkeys" thing, that biologists tell you to try to blow your mind, really means: If monkeys had evolved to be smart, this would be exactly how their schools are like. In fact, this IS their monkey school, with a monkey teacher, with his monkey science degree, teaching physics to his monkey students: Me. And I'm a monkey who is baffled by the fact that he's a monkey. And people say physics is boring

I could go on and on about this. Somewhere out there, some alien student is probably sitting in his alien class, thinking exactly the same thing: "OMG, I'm literally just an evolved R'Brlorbrblod!". And another who thinks "Wow, If aliens saw me, they'd think that I'M the alien!". All those aliens would think that the way they look and the way their societies are set up, that's just the definition of normal.

Alien-Suit-Bow-Tie.jpg

So "normal" doesn't mean anything, except maybe to you on a personal level, which in turn just means you "feel" a certain way when you see things you're familiar with, as opposed to things that are "strange" to you. But we should try to make sure that we aren't deluding ourselves into thinking that just because we're familiar with something, it's per definition more legitimate than something we don't yet know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49