Coffee and Philosophy: Bullying

Hello everyone, @clayboyn here, I decided to move my coffee thoughts over to the Philosophy Trail, because most of the thoughts are philosophical in nature and fit the theme of what I want this account to be. That being said today's mug was brought to you by "some frozen Starbuck's junk that I never drink but it was free so WOOOHOOO?" If you are new to this thematic post series I'm doing, it's all about discussion and perspective, so feel free to discuss, debate, or share your views below.

Today I was thinking about the concept of bullying and how it manifested in my life and what it is ultimately about. I am sure we all have our thoughts and perspectives on what bullying is and our perceptions of the person perpetrating the actions, but as someone that has dealt with both sides of the issue and come out being a quite positive individual and I feel a much better person due to self reflection, perhaps I can shed some light through my experiences. First and foremost, I feel that bullying is all about the victim mindset, the person doing the bullying views themselves as a victim and they are attacking either verbally or physically the thing or person threatening to them. In turn I don't feel you can be a bully without being a victim in your own mind. We should avoid "counter-bullying" tactics because it perpetuates a cycle and produces more victims and bullies.

To me, the reason this issue is so hard to wipe out is because children are not self aware and depending on how introverted they are or oblivious the parents are, they grow up into adults that maintain these behaviors. The problem with "malignant" problematic behaviors is that it's almost impossible to create a self aware adult and the only way I feel that it is even remotely possible is for the individual to decide that something needs to change. To draw a comparison to psychology which plays a huge part in this, Freud could figure out "what's wrong with you" but giving you the tools to fix it is where psychiatry and or self awareness would come in. Honestly I'm not sure how much good psychiatry can even do in some of these instances because I had been to plenty of therapy and the most I was ever diagnosed with was "depression."

What is depression really though? In my mind it's more about a lack of self love than any external factor. If we're being authentic and being the type of person we know we want to be, then depression disappears under most circumstances. I think the only real exceptions to that are when we have unhealthy attachments or an unresolved fear of death/loss that manifests itself due to an external stimulus. In the end it's just better to keep in mind that everyone has to deal with issues and become self aware at their own pace. Don't allow yourself to be bullied, but don't bully someone back either. Remove yourself from the situation and then proceed however you best see fit, just don't perpetuate the cycle. The more self aware individuals we have raising more self aware children, the faster we break all of these toxic cycles in society. Namaste.

Sort:  

I agree, self awareness can speed up the breaking of these toxic cycles. By digging into and revealing some of the reasons and underlying psychology facilitates actually seeing the issues. Good words my friend.

What else is there really other than self awareness?

Humor. I would argue most bullying is actually done in the name of humor. Even many examples of racism come from the comedy world, ie black face and anti-jewish caricatures during the NS-Regime.

Now there is a big problem, because I love humor and I would never want to censor it. A great way for me to make fun of somebody without bullying him, is to also have normal talks to them.
When you are self aware, which is still the mandatory step 1, and you get to know somebody then you should be able to have fun and tease them without actually putting a lot of hostile pressure on them. I think it is important for our society that we can make fun of each, but we should never have a person that we only make fun of, like the media did with Trump, that was actually bullying 101 on their side. As long as we give every human the respect to have a serious/honest talk or discussion, we can also make fun of them when we sit all together drinking some beer.

I agree @thatgermandude, in fact my profile description on my personal account, @clayboyn, is "Just here expanding my consciousness and making fun of myself and everyone else." It's important to always be able to assess the situation and the individual that is the target of that humor and like you said "give every human the respect to have a serious/honest talk or discussion" to clear up issues caused on accident.

Only trudging through the tundra mile after mile, but , of course that eventually leads to self awareness too.

Self aware and openly sharing that awareness, this @philosophy-trail account is a perfect example of that. These small steps will lead to bigger ones as the message gets spread.

Thanks for the encouragement @sandstorm, I feel that this is a great opportunity to spread some light and focus my intentions and allows me to help out steem-trail to inspire and bring new users to the center stage!

Keep the focus laser tight and the inspiration large & wide. The world is a theater awaiting the next act.

some people who have the most wit are going through the most shit, xoxo Battleaxe

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $44.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61204.65
ETH 2452.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58