The Ghost From The Future

in #philosophy7 years ago

The Ghost From The Future

christmas future.jpg

This may sound depressing but it’s something I do occasionally as a useful tool to live life how on my terms.

Today’s challenge is to pretend you are old, really old. Sit down in a quiet place and use your imagination to picture yourself 80/90 years old. Think of the symptoms of old age and the restrictions you might have, hearing, eyesight, movement etc, now ask old man you. If you could teleport back to the age you are now what would you do? Would you have more fun? Would you change your job? would you spend more time with your family? would you of took more risks in business? would you exercise more?
I don’t know the meaning of life but in my opinion we have to make the most of it. Life isn’t about how much we spend time working, how much money we can make before we die or doing things that we dislike. Life is for living and being happy, We are all on board this planet Earth for a few short trips around our local star, so make the most of it before you reach your destination.

When I was working for a local council I used to look at my work mates, some who had been there for 25 years who were coming up to retirement. It was a well paid job with a good pension but when I looked at these guys and thought to myself, this could be me in 20 years time, I asked myself how would I feel being 65 having spent my whole life working at one place? My answer frightened me, it made me feel sick. I decided to quit my job and do my own thing and create my own path in life instead of living groundhog day for the rest of my working life.
I admit I don’t make as much money as I did but I am a lot happier living life on my own terms, and so now when I visit old man me he is also very happy indeed.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85