I Think, therefore, I Am...

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

After finishing Peterson’s book (12-rules), I’ve been thinking a lot about philosophy.

Originally penned in 1637, the proposition from the famous Latin philosopher Rene Descartes, “I Think, Therefore I Am,” became a fundamental element of Western philosophy, as it purported to form a secure foundation for knowledge in the face of radical doubt.

The critique against the well-known proposition is the presupposition of an "I" doing the thinking, so that the most Descartes was entitled to say was, "thinking is occurring."

Upon learning of this critique, I endeavored to restate it in such a way that overcomes such criticism. Do you think I was successful in doing so?

6. Restating I think, therefore I am.png

Sort:  

Hey mate!
Long time no speak!
I hope you're all good?
DC
“I Think, Therefore I Am"

Yes indeed, Sir Darren... I am well, I hope you are too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75