Philosophy Lesson at Walmart

in #philosophy6 years ago

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



Image Source

Philosophy Lesson at Walmart

Author's Note: I am a Christian. If you are not, cool, just replace "God" below with "karma", "universe", etc. It's my opinion that the lesson taught to me below is universally applicable to all of the above and we as a society are too ugly to each other. I really needed to hear what God was saying to me that day and maybe you do too.


God works in mysterious ways. Life has taught me that this is not just an opinion being expressed, but a matter of fact. Yet I am still caught off guard and mesmerized by some of the ways he uses to get his point across to us sometime. On a recent trip to the local soul-eating Walmart, I was taught a very significant lesson about the needs of humanity and our obligations as participants in the human race to try to meet some of those needs even when it is not necessarily convenient for us to do so.


Image Source Pixabay
For most of my adult life, I have tried to start out every day by asking for God to place someone in my path that needs help. I am embarrassed to say that some days it is easy to see who he sent my way, but on many occasions I was too self-involved to see who was there for help until it was presented to me more than one time. We are so eager to ask for a purpose, a mission, but sometimes we are hesitant to do so when it shows up. On this particular day, I was having what I like to refer to as "one of the longest days of my life". I had been running errands all day and the last stop for my to-do list was Walmart. It was the kind of day that even your teeth hurt and all you can think about is stepping back into the comfort and serenity of your home. To be embraced by your sanctuary and to be surrounded by all that is yours. As is the norm, Walmart was packed. And when I say packed, I mean it was a bumper car parade of silly clowns and band leaders. The cacophony arising from the shopping carts, squeaky shoes, and arguments about butter or margarine were absolutely deafening! I navigated these hostile waters for 2 hours like a sweaty-toothed pirate escaping the British Armada and I was spent. I had give all I had to give and I was a the point of abandoning my 130 lb shopping cart and walking into the wilderness. I finally place the last item in the buggy and head for checkout.
Image Source Pixabay
As I rounded the towering ailses, I quickly realized that my adventure was far from over. As per company policy it seems, only about 3 check out lanes were open for the 1,632 people with me trying to escape this capitalistic pit of iniquity! As I surveyed the situation and prepared to enter a line with the other sheep at the trough, I picked and decided upon a line and took my place upon the masses. For unforeseen reason, the line I picked was not moving near the pace of the other lines. I am a firm believer that you DO NOT, under any circumstance, change lines! You made your choice and you need to live with it...lol. So, following my self-imposed rules, I waited and waited and waited as my line barely inched forward to the sweet release of freedom. Finally, I advanced far enough to begin placing my items on the conveyor belt and I always try to do so in a efficient and practical manner. This particular day, I was picking up some items and supplies to continue with a recent dedication to juicing twice a day and eating a reasonable meal at night to try to regain some of the fervor of my youth and create a healthier existence for my future. There was nothing in my buggy I felt was too unusual or weird. I had a rather large piece of raw ginger, some various shellfish, a new apple corer, a plastic device to remove fish hooks(I love to fly fish), and some fly fishing poppers. These were the most different looking items but, again, nothing too out there. As I was placing item after item, I noticed my cashier was a young heavy set guy who looked to be enjoying his position about as much as I was enjoying my current role. I smiled and nodded my head as I asked how he was. He said he was good and smiled back.
Image Source Pixabay
So, here is where my lesson begins! As the some of the first few items are being scanned, the young man scans an item and begins looking at it quizzically. He says, "What's this?". In my near deranged state I look up to see him turning my ginger root over and over in his hands. My first instinct is to think, "Is this kid messing with me?!?" So, I pause to gauge his body language and demeanor. Nope, he really want to know. So I explain it is a ginger root and I'm going to use it in my new juicing plans. He says, "Oh" and places it in a bag of other items and I go back to unloading my buggy. Now mind you, I'm working at a furious pace to get this done and me back on my way to seclusion and nirvana! A few more items beep down the scanner and again I hear him, "What's this?". In my exhausted mental and physical state I'm trying to grasp the reality of this situation and wonder if I've slipped into some weird daytime grocery store coma. I slowly look up to see him looking at one of the poppers. Again, I'm unsure if he is serious or messing with me. As I study him in the blazing fluorescent lighting all of my training and experience says he is genuine and sincere. So, I quickly try to explain that they are artificial bait for fishing and a little about fly fishing. He again accepts my answer and I begin to quickly realize why the particular line I choose is moving at such a snail's pace. It is at this point of desperation and near surrender that I realize that maybe this is he who I prayed for. Maybe this is my chance to be a small light of kindness and humanity. Was I so burden with my life and schedule that I couldn't spare a few minutes talking with a cashier? So, I stopped for a minute and explained more about fly fishing, about how my dad taught me, and he in turn recounted his love of fishing and memories of his dad, who had passed away, taking him fishing and the wonderful memories he had of him. I went back to unloading my cart and sure enough about every two or three items I got the, now familiar, inquiry into its origin, use, and name. I found myself taking pride and joy into stopping and giving an extremely thorough explanation of each item's design, function, and my intended use. I really began to relish this small teaching process and how in some small way it may be making this young man's day a bit brighter. As I finished up and payed for my items, he looked me in the eyes and quickly down and away to his cash register and he thanked me for being so nice and talking to him. I told him that it was my pleasure and I loved teaching him about my items. He looked back up with the biggest smile and said I was the best customer he had in weeks. I left with a little lighter step, a renewed soul, and much less fatigued.

So, what are the take aways from this? First, shame on me shopping at such a cancer to society and not supporting more locally owned establishments. Quick is not always better! Second, shame on me for feeling frustration at a question from an inquisitive mind. How many others would have been to ashamed or busy to bother trying to expand their knowledge and horizons? And finally, shame on me with not being more grateful for answered prayers. Far too often, we all are not thankful for getting exactly what we ask for. Trust me, talking to this man and answering his questions was much more of a blessing to me than to him in the end. I learned just as much as he did and I wouldn't trade this experience for anything. I am far too guilty of letting "life" get in the way of me living and of my humanity. This may have seemed silly to some but I just wanted to put it out there in case there was anyone else out there suffering from the disease of a hectic pace and missing the cure found in a simple conversation! Thank you so much if you made it this far...lol I love all of you!


Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Glad you took yourself to the woodshed for shopping at Walmart. Saved me a rave. 😎

Your patience and caring with the check-out guy (gal's lines always move quicker, btw) gives a good indication of what a great officer you must be when dealing with the public.

Thanks buddy. I, far too often lose sight of treating people the way I would want myself or my loved ones treated. I'm glad I get a chance now and then to make up for it! Also, the key with the public, society, friend, family, etc. is I try to also approach things with a servant's mindset and heart.

I was raised on the Standard American Diet. I learned about produce when I was a cashier at a Wild Oats (a health food store), because I had never seen half of it before in my life. This one lady was saying something about her favorite way to make collard greens, and asked me what mine was. I told her I had never eaten them before. In shock, she asked me where my family was from. I told her my parents were New Yorkers and she said, "OH, that explains it!" 😂

This guy's curiosity and genuine desire for more knowledge was infectious and inspirational. Trust me, veggies were my mortal enemy up until about two months ago..lol Thanks for your support and taking the time to comment!

Wow, thank you for sharing this post. I love your humorous way of teaching. I will try to look a bit deeper beyond myself in everyday life. I have not been brave enough to ask God to place someone in my path that I can help....since He might actually do it. I hate to admit it but I am usually asking Him to place someone in my path to help me. I think I will start reversing this prayer.

Thanks for stopping by! I think we all balance between needing someone as a rock and being a rock for someone else. The trick is knowing which season we are in, unfortunately I'm not always the best at that...lol

the cashiers at my place scan things so fast they just want you to move. no time for chit chat, hope the ppl behind you at the register were patient too. God bless this guy

Usually that's the case with me too. I'm so glad this guy made me stop and smell the roses.

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @GuyFawkes4-20

Thank you so very much! I feel honored to have been selected!

You sir, are what my hubby & I call, "good people." 💜

Thank you, but I'm just trying to make up for all of the bad I dealt out in previous versions of myself!

See what I'm saying? You're absolutely good people.

Who cares?
IT is selection, and decentralisation including in food become more attractive to people, still, corporation goes with the change!

Wow. Thank you for sharing this insightful post @papacrusher . There is so much lesson to learn.

Thank you. It was definitely a learning moment for me and I hope I never again forget to take time for people.

Oh, I love this story so much. Thank you for sharing. <3 So many aspects to this - the reminder to connect to something bigger on a daily basis; the awareness and follow-through you had in slowing down when faced with your own busyness to honor the humanity in another soul. <3 I am not Christian, but God Bless You! (As he clearly already has.)

Thank you for leaving such a meaningful and deep comment and for taking the time to read such a long post. It is greatly appreciated!!!

Papacrusher, this post had me smile, then laugh, then laugh hysterically, and then cry....in that order. Your quotes below had me rolling on the floor.

capitalistic pit of iniquity!
I've slipped into some weird daytime grocery store coma.

In the end we could all spend more time to connect with others on a daily basis, and that probably meant the world to that young man. Thank you for posting.

p.s.- thank you for taking time out to join me with sbi

Thanks for your compliments and support. I definitely needed to be reminded to pause and let myself connect with more people in a deeper, meaningful way. p.s. - you're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48