Reclaimed Wood, Reclaimed People - A Woodworker's Epiphany.

Sitting in church this morning - normal Sunday activity. Lesson was on how God makes things new - normal lesson material.

Then something changed.

A little background: We make furniture and art out of old, dirty wood for a living. Wood that some people tag for the burn pile or throw away. You know - File 13 wood.

Example: a guy my husband knows says to him, "Hey! You interested in this barn on my property from the 1800's? It fell over and I was going to set a match to it." Set a match to it? I about turned on the waterworks at the idea! But that is how he viewed it. That is how a lot of people view old, dirty "stuff" - past it's prime, useless.


(Our new barn!)

Enter: Jesus. Do you realize how many times he took dirty, useless people or things and made them a masterpiece, no - the centerpiece of the story? He turns them into something new and sustaining. He reclaims them.

Jacob - his name means deceiver, crooked. Jesus renames him Jeshurun which means straight. He went from the vile brother that stole a birthright to upright man in the lineage of Jesus.

Saul - kills believers until his conversion. This guy was seriously filled with hate. Transformed into the apostle Paul - the crazy Jesus guy who sang in prison. Sang. Then, when the earthquake removed the doors from his cell (tell me that was a coincidence), he had so much LOVE for the guard that he willfully stayed there so the guard wouldn't get in trouble!

David - decided he must have the woman he sees bathing on her rooftop so he has her husband killed. We still view having an affair as a big deal. But having the husband knocked off? This is the stuff Law and Order's are made of! God quietly shows him what's up and you know what he does? Asks forgiveness. His heart is changed. You know what amazes me the most about him? God calls him "a man after God's own heart". This guy. This screw up.

Thomas - the guy we know as "Doubting Thomas". Ever wonder what happened to him? He ends up being a superawesome apostle! He goes all the way to India! He's a rockstar!

Rahab - prostitute. Just the name brings feelings of shame. God doesn't define her by this. (Thank God - think of the things I have done! You have done!) He sees her faith and rewards her. Not just some crummy silver foil star sticker - no, this woman is also in the lineage of Jesus! Oh, and he saves her whole family when the walls of Jericho fall.

The poor, ravaged, unraveling earth? He will make it new again.

Even the bread we eat at communion is BROKEN!

The cross - the most humiliating, torturous way to die is transformed into a bridge between us and God. Death is made into life.

I'm taking all this in today. I had one of those moments when the world stops and something - something I could have quoted to you my whole life - it resonates with me.

I like old, dirty, useless, ugly stuff.

The house we live in had 1.5' of standing water in the basement when we bought it. Ew. It was gross. No "turnkey" home for me!
My plans to buy a few old homes and make them beautiful again over the next few years fill me with excitement and anticipation!
We take old burn pile wood and make amazing furniture and art from it.

Why is this a recurring theme in my life?

Because I understand what it is to be reclaimed.

It happens to me every day. I am purchased with a price and made again into something new. God's love does this for me. Even when yesterday I marred myself beyond recognition. We all are ugly sometimes. We all feel useless and thrown away sometimes. We all face the person ready to throw a match on us an let us burn.

Praise God He is there to remind us we are beautiful masterpieces!


All pieces are made with love and hope by Chrissie and Jay - Organic Recreations.

Sort:  

Wow! This is stunning, I am blessed by this as you have touched my heart with your wood working.

I used to do things like this with my father, thank you for the fond memories as I read over your post.

I will be featuring your content because of how it has blessed me in a future post. Don't be alarmed, this is just something I started doing.

Good luck to you, and thank you for being a part of the community I love more and more every day!
~ @Timbo

@timbo, you brought me to tears. It's strange how God can use something like this to bless more people than just me. I am honored that it touched you enough to reference it later. Thank you!

Thank you! I did a follow up post and your's was one of 3 that caught my attention. Although, I will have to share with you that your post meant the most to me, not only was the content great, but it touched my heart.

I also just realized I didn't follow you, soooo that just changed haha!

Keep up the great posting and than you again, for blessing me with this post.

God can be hilarious I have found that out, my apologies for the tears, that was not my intention!

Have a wonderful evening!
~ @Timbo

Thank you for such beautiful words. I'm so glad God used this. :) You have helped inspire me to keep writing. I will be catching up with your posts soon as well!

Have a blessed day! I am so thankful to have such words to simply touch another soul.

great post, very informative

I'm a reclaimed person too. I love your analogy. Funny how God uses the simplest things to teach us. Thanks for writing this. I copied it to read again later.

Thanks so much, @countrygirl. Funny how we can know something in our heads but it takes a God moment to move it into reality. So glad it meant something to you!

Love this, such good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46