You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sittin' Up with the Dead Blog - Post 016 - Loophole Four - The Nuclear Option

in #philosophy8 years ago

I'm really loving this series, Stan.

Todays's episode brings up the question of people who commit heinous crimes because "God told me to do it".

How do you, in your mind, differentiate between God telling Abraham (as one example - but I could also have used a number of mass slaughters perpetrated by the invading Israelis into the Promised Land)
and, say, the mother who drowns her children in the bathtub because "God told her to" (I am too lazy to look up the reference but can assure you that it was an actual reported event in your country. In my own country we had a psychotic travelling in a bus decapitate a fellow passenger on "God's" instructions.

Getting down to the personal, I do not support any national or international level of government - but not on the "God told me to do it" level of justification but because they offend my conscience and critical thinking by their claims vs actions. I consider myself to be a Sovereign Individual that may delegate some of my sovereignty, at my discretion, to those I so choose (not those chosen for me). My allegiance is only to my own conscience directing my critical thinking - which is probably how I communicate or come into harmony with what you may be calling "God".

Sort:  

Thanks for the encouragement!

The issue you raise is the main problem with anyone who claims that they have a direct communication from God. God has indeed done that from time to time, but I sense that overt commands are very rare (although subtle hints are continuous). The overwhelmingly more likely case is that negative "voices" one is hearing in one's head are coming from one's own thoughts -- or someone much more sinister.

Of course, my standard answer is that true inspiration from God will never contradict His existing Scripture. (And refusing a suggestion based on quoting that conflicting Scripture is always a pretty safe bet.)

Matthew 4 shows how Jesus used Scripture to deal with such a "voice". Anyone rejecting what is written in Scripture is basically adrift with no concrete way to sort out who said what in that never ending 3-way "chat thread" we all have in our minds.

Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. And when He had fasted forty days and forty nights, afterward He was hungry. Now when the tempter came to Him, he said, “If You are the Son of God, command that these stones become bread.”
But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’”
Then the devil took Him up into the holy city, set Him on the pinnacle of the temple, and said to Him, “If You are the Son of God, throw Yourself down. For it is written:
‘He shall give His angels charge over you,’
and, ‘In their hands they shall bear you up,
Lest you dash your foot against a stone.’”
Jesus said to him, “It is written again, ‘You shall not tempt the Lord your God.’”
Again, the devil took Him up on an exceedingly high mountain, and showed Him all the kingdoms of the world and their glory. And he said to Him, “All these things I will give You if You will fall down and worship me.”
Then Jesus said to him, “Away with you, Satan! For it is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only you shall serve.’”
Then the devil left Him, and behold, angels came and ministered to Him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33