You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The obvious death of a maximizer

in #philosophy6 years ago

In the example of the employee, wouldn't it be more maximizing to find a job that they actually enjoy doing? I think that this is always a big problem when it comes to general happiness. People treat work as if it is necessary to survive but must be minimized so that they can get to the good stuff; free time.

It has taken me a long time to figure this out, and even longer to actually apply it to life. It is an ongoing process, but to truly maximize life we have to figure out how to do the things we love whether at work or at home!

Sort:  

wouldn't it be more maximizing to find a job that they actually enjoy doing?

You would think wouldn't you? Many people end up in jobs because they think it will provide an income, not because they like the field and then they become trapped in a sunk cost fallacy position and feel they can't change.

It has taken me a long time to figure this out, and even longer to actually apply it to life.

Me too. So far, I have found I love writing much more than I ever expected I would. It isn't easy to do what one loves, it shews time, energy and resources but, it maximizes life purpose.

I know! I feel the same way. I have to admit, I started moving my cryptos into Steem because I wanted to put my investments to some actual use on a working platform, but I was surprised at
just how much I actually began to enjoy the process of writing and interacting with the community.

I would actually be thrilled if I could do this for a living. That is certainly a long way off, but my skills are developing as I go along and I am constantly learning. Who knows what the future may hold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64144.95
ETH 3509.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55