You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do we fight to change the world?

in #philosophy8 years ago

It was nice reading about your mission in life and your ratification of your belief in non-violence. I feel you because not only do I feel the same and have lived my life accordingly, I have also faced the brunt of the "violent power" and almost lost my life in the process!

I too had wanted to change the world around me, and at a younger age, stood up to a dictator. I was tortured in official custody and nearly lost my life, but I never gave up till we got the change we wanted ultimately.

It was possible because there were good people, and institutions, who were always ready to stand up for certain ideals , and went out of their way to help out. One of them was Amnesty International, who published a paper regarding my illegal detention and torture, who gave me courage to carry on without retaliatory violence. And though it took some time, with everyone's help we could finally get the change we wanted.

One thing I learned from that ordeal was: If you are clear in your goals and plod on with honest intent, you will see there are enough people who want change without violence, and will stand by you. But only if they believe in you and your outlook. A belief which is built over time, and minute scrutiny of your actions. I, for one, will stand up if such a situation arises as I am pretty impressed with your work and your vision so far on steemit, and believe it will change a lot in the world. And history will judge your creation one day.

So best of luck and a huge head up from a guy who's sort of "been there, done that!" 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74