You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is philosophy a science? - With an example involving a bear (what more could you want?!)

in #philosophy7 years ago

Thanks for sharing! Yes, I can really understand why you would not like philosophy. When I went to an 'Open Day' when looking what to study at university, I went to a philosophy day, and I hated it! They were just debating for the sake of debating, not listening to the other people. I felt sick. So I didn't start out to study philosophy. And I'm glad I just kept on reading on my own. Because having the background, knowing what has been said, is very important. But I would never been able to do that for three years - I'm also super bad at memorizing. But I did end up studying philosophy at masters level and then a PhD - that's where the fun things started. A little at least. The environment where you can really ask the questions you want to ask, it has a lot to do with meeting the right people & teachers, I so agree.

I hope you will find that environment, in which you won't have to explain why Socrates is your favorite philosopher :)

I will think about what is my favorite, will probably take more than a comment to answer that interesting question!

So... please keep asking those questions! that's the only way to meet the people who like those questions...

Sort:  

Yes please do. You can make a post about your favourite one and why. I will try my best to debunk all of his theories(insert evil laugh here). I might even like him/her in the end.

Challenge accepted! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44