You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lucid Dreaming: Triggering Conscious Sleep

in #philosophy6 years ago

I would like to see my theory as being flexible and adjustable too but just from personal experience, it seems the more conscious I am, the more I can't do anything special. When I'm semi conscious, I often get triggered into a lucid dream in the middle of flying and my thought is always streamlined, e.g im only driven by a single thing I remembered from real life, like find a special book. but when fully conscious, I have access to a few goals from real life (also limited to a few things). Since there is no science behind it, it's hard to say this opinion is the fact.

One night, not long ago, I was on a drug so I slept early, woke around 530 or so and went back to bed, I laid around trying to sleep, while there I could partially feel my body going numb, then I think I slept off only to realize I was standing in my room. Then I realized I was dreaming/oob, I went to the door and the first thing on my mind was to walk through wall or the door, I couldnt, so I just opened the door and walked out to see someone I didnt know standing at the door. The whole lucid dream thing just happen anyhow, I cant really say anything solid about it.

Sort:  

Sounds like a very cool experience. I don't know if I've ever had that where I thought I was awake but was actually dreaming. Though I have heard about it many times so I know its common.

Yeah, it's common. I think if you wake up before your usual time and get back to bed in lesser than 10minutes after, it usually triggers itself. It's hard to force or control.

yeah sometimes its just sporadic

Once more, I am wondering if your inability to walk through the wall stems from a conscious reinforcement of the notion that it is impossible to walk through walls because it does not work that way in our world. Perhaps in a state of semi-consciousness, this constant mind-enforced idea of physics is mitigated somewhat, since physics and its natural knowledge is subconsciously programmed to the point where it isn't a conscious thought to us, until confronted with the active prospect of just spontaneously achieving flight or walking through a solid object, at which point the normally passive subconscious rule springs into conscious thought. If our actions in lucid dreams can be controlled by us through awareness of the experience being a dream, I can't seem to shake the idea that the physics and occurrences of a lucid dream may also be shaped by us, channeled through the desires of the subconscious. Kind of a like a loop of personal control, until a breakaway is achieved.

Once more, I am wondering if your inability to walk through the wall stems from a conscious reinforcement of the notion that it is impossible to walk through walls because it does not work that way in our world. Perhaps in a state of semi-consciousness, this constant mind-enforced idea of physics is mitigated somewhat, since physics and its natural knowledge is subconsciously programmed to the point where it isn't a conscious thought to us, until confronted with the active prospect of just spontaneously achieving flight or walking through a solid object, at which point the normally passive subconscious rule springs into conscious thought.

I also think the "conscious reinforcement" is what maintains natural physics in dream state. I see the point of the "loop of personal control" but I don't know if it is that easy. although I have slight recollection of having been able to maintain flight in some cases as a teenager when dream flight triggered lucidity. but in most cases where I simply became lucid randomly, I'm usually unable to do anything beyond natural even though I'm aware it is a dream. Maybe I need to reinforce the idea that dreams have separate realities and maybe that could change how things work out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70