HAPPY FATHERS DAY - Topic: Love vs. Attachment

in #philosophy7 years ago

I hope every father out there is enjoying this day with their families. Those of us who do not have children, all I can say is that I am enjoying my day of Peace and Quiet and celebrating that fact. I decided to find a relevant philosophy topic for this particular day. And here it is...


child-2395705_1280.jpg
CC0 Pixabay.com

Fatherhood

What does it really mean to be a father, a dad, a daddy?
Every father is different in so many ways. Each has his own way of parenting, whether that is up close and personal or from a distance. And the one thing that each has in common is the love for their children. There is no disputing the love we feel for our flesh and blood, our families.

Love Vs. Attachment

So what is the difference between Love and attachment? Well the idea of love is to care for another without any regard for ones self. This is a true perfect father. Think about what you would do for your family. This selfless caring is LOVE. You Love your family and would do anything for them without regard for your own health or safety. This is the true definition of a father. When you love someone, yes you are attached to them. But the key is what you motivations are.

So then what is attachment? Attachment is selfish. This desire and need for something has little to do with the compassion or love for another. You can be attached to an object just like a person. This is when we feel and think "I am attached to this person and thus love them." I think it is rare for this to be true in the case of a father, and thus I bring it up. A father doesn't think "I need to do this and that for my child because if I don't i will suffer." They think how their child is affected. This empathy is an amazing thing in life.

“The root of suffering is attachment.”

Buddha Quote from the Sunakkhatta Sutta


holiday-2388400_640.jpg
CC0 Pixabay.com

So can we manifest this compassion for all sentient beings. Even those who we don't know, those who we have never met, and even people we may consider an enemy. Even those who are not fathers. Can you treat everyone as if they were family? As if their feelings matter as much as your own? Compassion is amazing.

A Challenge For You:

So this week following fathers day, i ask this of you. Try to find an act of kindness, one that you would normally do without thought for your family, and do it for someone you do not know. Do this with the intention of no reward but self satisfaction (the smallest amount of greed).


father-and-son-2258681_1280.jpg
CC0 Pixabay.com

"Radiate boundless love towards the entire world.”

Buddha Quote from the Karaniya Metta Sutta


@nicnas_allblue-Under.PNG

Banner By @justcallmemyth, Minnow Support Project
Come join us in the discord channel: Start by clicking here: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw
Once there feel free to DM me @nicnas for any assistance or guidance needed.

Sort:  

Happy fathers day! @nicnas

Happy fathers day to you my friend @uday625

I love ur post..!

opens your eyes does it?

I´m meditating, Yes opens my eyes wow @nicnas “The root of suffering is attachment.”

I love the idea of this one small, selfless act. I think that we are often times "attached" to someone due to circumstance (work, social groups etc.) and I'd like to think that our relationships with those people would be much more meaningful if we acted out of love.

Great post!

Good point!!! Its a good idea for everyone to consider this. We have so much to offer and just image if we did this selflessly.

Thank you for sharing @nicnas

Thank you for reading my buddy @errymil

Thank you for this. I am a mother and I have to remind myself to give space and not be too attached to affection from my boy as he grows into a tween and isn't as excited about hugging mom all the time.

It is hard to do, maybe impossible. But the natural motherly love is pure love not attachment. I am sure that attachment does come in in those certain tween moments tho. Keeping it in mind is amazing in its own right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63