You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nihilism remedy for Anxiety? Is nihilism a viable remedy to anxiety and even conducive to success.

in #philosophy7 years ago

@loshcat. If I understand this post correctly, what you are saying is that the very act of acknowledging nihilism suggest that it cannot be adhered to. Therefore, a true nihilist doesn't know he is a nihilist. I may have misread you. That said. SSG, means that you give a fuck. So it is a damned if you do. Damned if you don't scenario.

Sort:  

The way I see it, being a true nihilist isn't really possible, if you take "not caring" all the way, you would basically lie down, not move, and eventually perish from starvation. The reason I said "useful definition" in the beginning of my post, was because nihilism by itself is, I guess, useless, at least for help in doing stuff which requires caring. With SSG, I'm trying to take concepts from nihilism that are conducive for my end goal and applying them as needed. There is of course, a very personal aspect to this too. Anything that makes me happy stays away from nihilism, anything that I feel holds me back gets nihilism latched on to it. It's hard to explain really, basically for this to work, you would have to inherently have more personal value in simply being happy, instead of caring or asking about the whys and hows. That way, the nihilistic ideology won't consume you.
Otherwise, thanks very much @nicholas83 for reading and I really appreciate your comment, made me think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52