You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That is not philosophy! On the battle about what is real

in #philosophy7 years ago

I love having a resident philosopher in the house. Your question got me thinking, and reading your text made me think of an author I like, and whilst not a philosopher in the traditional sense, wrote a lot of philosophical science fiction. I talk of Philip K Dick, and his endless search for 'the real'.

Apart from that my knowledge of philosophy is somewhat limited. Well at least that leaves more room for new knowledge.

Philosophy to me is the exercise to at least try to take in a different position, to get to know a point of view before having an opinion about it.

I think this is vitally important. To truly know what is real would require an ability to incorporate - even for a period of time - opinions contrary to those one would normally hold. At least to be able to look at it objectively, honestly. I can see that.

Thanks for your post.

Sort:  

“Everything is true”, he said. “Everything anybody has ever thought.” ~ Philip K. Dick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47