You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are we living in a simulation?

in #philosophy6 years ago

I read your post fully. But I really have no I dea what I just actually read. I think if you properly want to discus this topic you should focus more on the details of every aspect of it. Also clarifying what 'post human" means and stuff like that.

It may be because I have a lack of understanding, or just not smart enough to understand. But still it sparked an interest in me also because of you replying to that trending page dude with a shitty post haha.

Anyway it's a pretty complex topic you're starting here. This needs more indepth writing to really hit the reader with an "Aha" moment. Im not saying that im a wonderboy in writing but, it's just how I felt reading this post. I think this might be of value for you.

aaaaaanyway. thanks and have a good day ;)

Sort:  

Yeah, it's not my best work - just wanted to get it written down before I lost the thought. And you aren't the only person to pick me up on the 'post-human' thing. Part of the problem with working mainly with university people - and only a small minority of them at that - is that I forget that a lot of what I take for granted is totally obscure and/or insane.

(Also, it's not a 'smart' thing. My high school grades were barely worth the paper they were printed on, and some of my best students have come from backgrounds of pretty serious educational disadvantage.)

You are right though, I should do an explained on what Bostrom was on about in the first place, as well as a more general look at people who thought the world might be an illusion.

Don't be too hard on @chbartist. Sure, he's rolled in here and started splashing huge chunks of SBD around. But I suspect he's essentially decent, and is on a pretty steep learning curve. Anyone who can put up with my heckling has to be pretty tolerant at least.

Me, I've got my own lessons to learn, like how to be critical of people who are far richer than me, without pissing them off so much that I financially and/or professionally shoot myself in the foot, if you know what I mean.

Btw you are a philosophy teacher at an university?

I'm a casual/sessional philosophy teacher/tutor/lecturer at at least one university, yes.

Hahah, that last part.. You are actually holding back on what you want to say because someone with high steem power could flag you down?

It's not just that (though it is at least partially). Like it or not, people with money can get shit done. I'm about to help set up a public philosophy program for marginalised groups here in Melbourne. Things like this take money, so I need to work on not annoying the kind of people who can help me in this way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60843.73
ETH 3406.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57