Philosophy: religious claims to miracles and the scientific worldview

in #philosophy7 years ago

Miracles vs Scientific Worlview

Hi to all.

For this semester I have attended a module called the philosophy of religion. From the very beginning I was interested in this course. I am religious and I am open to all opinions and I love talking about this subject with my friends with other beliefs. Our conversations are never disrespectful or out of order - we like talking about our views and then discussing the differences within our views.

At the moment I am busy with a very interesting essay about the reconciliation of religious claims to miracles and the scientific worldview. The topic caught my attention since I have not put much thought to it before. The term 'miracles' here refers mostly to the Christian miracles written about in the Bible. So far, I have started to read some books about both sides of the topic (C.S Lewis is the author of one of the books, "Miracles", which is very good). I am still unsure about my personal conclusion as well as the conclusion based on the facts. I will post my essay as soon as I'm done with it - that way we can have some cool discussions.

It would be interesting to hear what you think.
Is it possible to believe in both science and miracles?
What does the term 'miracle' mean to you?
Why can't the two views be reconciled?

peace :)

Sort:  

The true miracle is not walking on water, or turning water into wine, but believing in all this.

Congratulations @musick! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @musick! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58690.10
ETH 2310.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49