You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stolen Hopes & Dreams

in #philosophy7 years ago

Beautiful post.
I reflect back on the years I spent trying to create the perfect family and the perfect life until one day I woke up and realised no one is perfect.
My life is not what i dreamed it would be but I don't feel robbed, I feel blessed, although things are not perfect ( they never are) I have realised that it's not what you have it's who.
Who shares your days and nights. Who knows the real you, and accepts you anyway.
Buying the perfect house and the best new car do not equal perfection.
Love, trust, family. That's what matters, doing what you love for less rather than living a life to achieve monetary reward.
Spending hour after hour working a horrible job to pay for things I didn't really need, I just thought I did are behind me.
I hope I can teach my children to live for what and who they love, not for what they think society expects them to want.

Sort:  

The things that steal our hopes and dreams differ for each. For some it is entertainment, some chasing the perfect life and some literally drugs. It is the realisation and understanding from seeing it that brings the reevaluation of what is important.

It would be nice to be able to teach kids early so they need not have to journey as far to find out the hard way.

I think that is what parents are for!

You gonna be a great parent if you realise this is one of the important things to know! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64