Sort:  

Yes, I have seen that and other theories. I don't dismiss the idea of quantum consciousness in general, but I haven't seen any theories that have the kind of theoretical explanatory power that IIT has. If I had to go in that direction, I would combine it with the approach Tononi has taken. Tononi is very neutral and cautious with regards to ontological issues, partly perhaps because he's not as confident in his understanding of physics. He had a talk in Oslo a few years back for students, and I asked him about this very issue, because I was concerned with the ontology, but he turned it around, saying we should have the ontology to fit consciousness, rather than the other way around. He did mention Judea Pearl however, who has a theory of causality that turns the issue slightly sideways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71