You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Do You Believe? / Who Do You Trust?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

First of all: it's good to see you here again @tonyr. It's been some time since I saw any of your posts. Not just because you haven't been here much, but I've been pre-occupied lately and hardly read anything in my feed nowadays. Good questions and probably questions we all ask ourselves. Some more than others. Who to trust? You mention that most of us trust our family, but I think that with me, a lot of others also had experiences with their family when they turned out to be less reliable and trustworthy than one might have hoped. Friends? Yes. In my case, there are friends I've had for a long time and friends who only recently came into my life, that I trust completely. I am one of those lucky ones who can say they have more than one or even two such friends. Some are close and some are always in my heart but far away. Nevertheless, the trust is there. As for all the others: church (HAH)...Well, I've come to the conclusion (purely for myself) that church would be the last place on earth to find any kind of truth. I am one of those people who thinks that when religious people die (any religion) they will be highly disappointed. But on the other hand, I am very much open to the possibility that I am wrong. There are times when I trust myself 100% and there are times when I am not even sure I can trust my thoughts or feelings. It's nothing disappointing, or depressing or anything like that, it just is. I think with this modern information overload, news media and TV (something I got rid of for this reason), news that gets blown out of proportion or lied about, or not, it is very hard for anyone to stay leveled and know what is true and what is not. So I tend to listen to anyone and everyone who seems to make sense, then filter out the bullshit and add a little of my own spices to make it work for me. But always in the background knowing that either way: I could be wrong.

Sort:  

Hey @misslasvegas. Thanks a lot for the kind words and I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you. I'm still not as free in the time department as I'd like to be and have a few distractions in my own life which have limited both my time and my enthusiasm for being social. I'm sorry to hear of your troubles and hope all is well at the moment. I have a similar situation going on with one of my family members so can sympathise with everything you're going through and your frustrations regarding the nature of the system. :(

In the modern world I think that's the best we can hope for. To try to gain as much personal experience and 'knowledge' as possible and interpret it as best we can using our natural intuition. But this leads to a world of eight billion different belief systems, even if only different by fractions from one another. If there is meaning to life as opposed to randomness, then surely there is a universal truth.

What the fuck is that universal truth? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60