Why We Need Philosophy More Than Ever By @mindhunter!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Philosophy in the age of 'safe space'


What is happening to all serious and philosophical musings in this age of 'safe spaces' and narcissistic selfie takers?

It appears to me there is a slow philosophical death going on within the younger generations. I believe all college students should incorporate philosophy into their major so they can become more rounded emotional individual within their subject fields. Philosophy is king of the sciences, and is just way too valuable not to be included.



Source


The @mindhunter past


When I studied for my Bachelors of Science (BSc) in Chemistry at Edinburgh University, there was no one there to teach me the philosophy basics about science. In fact I even attended the history of science lectures to try and find it, but even they were strongly science based.

I was introduced to the Problem of Evil by Camus by an art student friend, and after that was I hooked. 'The Myth of Sisyphus' became my new religion taking over from women and wine!

I guess most philosophy must start at home from a young age. Most parents have no experience of philosophy themselves and loath to pick up a dusty old book on Socrates. I find kids over the age of twelve work best, and I try to simplify Plato's 'The Republic' for them.

The best advice I can give any young underling, is put down your iPhone, and start reflecting seriously on your life. Start questioning everything. Stop going near 'echo chambers' on Facebook. Stop inputting crap into your brain and contemplate or meditate for 20 minutes a day to start with.

This advice coming from the @mindhunter does not wish to condescend in any way. All I wish to do is to make the subject matter less scary so we can all get some real work done instead of marching to the tune as slaves to Mr Apple.

I wish you a happy iPhone-free day!

@mindhunter

Sort:  

At the very least, some explanation about the scientific method should be taught in university, and it is hard to get around the likes of Popper, etc. then. Seems to be a good entry point into philosophy, and interested students can take it from there, when the courses are on offer, that is.

PS. All my days are iPhone-free, and always have been.

I wish I'd read Popper sooner!! I do try to have at least 2 iPhone-free days a week and take frequent philosophical meditation breaks :)

always a pleasure reading through your posts when I catch them :)

I try to keep em' short and #nuggetized ;) I'm always glad to have you as a fan Mama! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65