You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Philosophy of Use: The Psychonaut's Quest

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

You really have a way with words. I couldn't agree more. However I think cannabis can be used as an escape, under the right conditions. Up until my first trip I smoked every day to deal with anxiety and mild depression. I just wanted to get high and feel okay, and it got to the point that I was spending way too much money on it and not really feeling the effects as much because of my tolerance. LSD helped me overcome the problems that cannabis only helped me hide from. It made me realize that there's nothing to worry about and helped me free myself from a lot of mental problems I had created.

This probably isn't the case for most people, but in my experience cannabis does have the potential for abuse with people like myself.

Sort:  

Thank you.

I agree that it can be used in way like that but I would still classify that as therapeutic (to a point, at least). This post was more of a response to some comments that I received on my last post but I do fully understand that there are several "philosophies of use" when it comes to any drug.

That being said, I do still stand by the idea that even recreational use has a theraputic quality but it could be a matter of the individual, though. From my experience and the reports of others, cannabis seems to lead to a sort of self examination (I suspect this is what causes some of the "paranoia" that some people experience but that is another topic). It does typically make one feel better and some may say that using a drug solely for that reason is abuse but I tend to think of it as the short rest that allows the mind to recover from the stresses of life. In this sense, I look at it like the cold drink one enjoys after doing some yard work on a hot day.

Either way one looks at the issue, it still stands in contrast to the view that the only or primary purpose of consuming these substances is to escape.

Thanks for reading and (as always) leaving a thoughtful comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43