Feeding the other wolf

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
We cant honestly think that anything valuable can be achieved by being negative, by being the one who is quick to point out all the reasons to give up, to not try. Yet, it becomes to easy for us the sapiens to fall back into negativity and many of us do. There are valid reasons to think of the worse outcomes, perspective is valuable in all circumstances, but building upon negativity is something I don't think can be done.


img src

I'm not talking about being delusional

Its important to stay grounded and I won't make any arguments in favor of myopic positivism. My intention and my point is more that in a life of no absolutes, of nuanced dimensions, our choices, our focus can change the outcome of any situation. If we choose feel powerless then we are, if we choose to feel powerful then we can be.

Aside from all the negative associations we may have the "mental programming" we all should be able to appreciate the ability it may have to help us evolve and grow. I often say half way joking that one of my intentions with the @helpie project is to mentally reprogram some awesome Steemians and I say this only because this platform, just like in real life, never has a shortage of negativity to spread around.

If perception is Truth

Then we must all learn to see with different eyes, to see opportunity instead of impossibility, to see lessons instead of deserved or undeserved punishments. I mean, as far as we know the world does not revolve around our will and there is nothing we can effectively do to control everything around us. All we can do is accept how we feel about things, internalize our emotions and processes past events into new valuable wisdom.

On that note... I had a great conversation with a good friend yesterday, as much as it was about a negative subject that made absolutely no one smile, I found it quite productive. It was a practice of perspective, of feeding the other wolf and in an attempt to make a case for practical wisdom, if there is even such a thing, I said this.

"Most of what you hear about life will be bullshit, it will be pretty, but it will be bullshit... so read, question and create your truth and don't let anyone rob you of your own discovery, because when its all over and its time to sleep for the last time, no one gives you a trophy for following the rules"


It does need some polishing I will admit, but I can't help but to ask myself if a younger mind would even get what I mean by these lines. Would this even make sense to someone with a different life experience than my own? I don't know... I have no clue.... I will however raise my coffee to the hypothetical me that lives in a distant future... I'm sure he will be looking back at this moment of ignorance and chuckle.


(signature by @bembelmaniac )
Sort:  

Hurrah for the Wolf-Myths! Of course, almost every myth holds some nugget of truth, but the Wolfs bring us entire life-lessons... The one about feeding the black or the white Wolf is the best of them all, or at least the ones I know of. Another well known Wolf-tale is "The Boy Who Cried Wolf", of course.

A little less known is the truth about the Werewolf... As almost everything else in life it makes sense when you stop and think about it. The Werewolf saga tells about humans who, in the night of the full moon, become wild beasts. This is true: we do become "wild beasts" at full moon. Fact is that throughout history the number of (violent) crimes is much higher under full moons. Back in the days when the light-bulb wasn't invented yet, a full moon simply ment that you could see better at night, there's more light. So criminals who act under the cover of night, but still want to be able to see what they're stealing, or who they're raping or murdering, did their dirty deeds at full moon...

Even today this is the case: a study conducted between 1978 ans 1982 showed significant higher crime numbers on these well-lit nights.

The incidence of crimes committed on full moon days was much higher than on all other days...

Now let's hope we can eventually prove the Werewolf tale to be nothing more than that, by simply keep feeding the white wolf and starve the other one to death ;-)

Thanks!

I'm fascinated by Lore and werewolf stories are pretty up there in the ranking... speaking of.. @ankapolo has a character she designed a while back... I think you will appreciate it..

Gale is a beautiful creation indeed! Following @ankapolo now... :-)

thank you! 😚

I, for one, greatly appreciate the wisdom you so generously share — always in your uniquely meno voice — always with just a touch of elder brother, no bullshit firmness. More, please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47