As the year closessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy6 years ago

I'm sure I'm not the only one who begins to mentally note the lessons for the year when December comes around. It's one of those habits I've had for as long as I've been an "adult" (note the air quotes). That being said this year has been extra special for a thousand reasons and making my notes is extra difficult.


img src: gre.ac.uk

My worst year ever


In plenty of ways it was, and of course I could choose to focus solely on this. This was the year when I closed my company, when I had to sell plenty of things I treasured, even had to sell my car. So yeah, you could say that financially it's been the worse year.

Like plenty of newcomers to this space of cryptos I got scammed too, lost quite a bit of my capital and when I tried to complain, there was nobody who would listen.

You see, you could say I got a crypto survival PhD in 10 months, and boy it was expensive. But, the story does not end there, no sir.

My best year ever


I got over it, I just had to. Knowing that I would not really recover financially as I wanted to, and letting go, allowed me to breathe again. Yes, I know that makes little sense, but it's precisely how I feel. "I'm defaulting on the credit card... what's new?" became my attitude towards the end. I also realigned priorities something that most of us forget to do.

A big chunk of my time was spent asking myself one question: Do I need it? The internal debates were never easy to resolve, but I always felt better in the end of it all.

I also began to focus more of my energy on the things that had more value to me, the things that brought me back to balance. This is precisely why I care so much about community, because in truth it allowed me to cope with everything that was going on. I mean, How could I stay down, when I'm surrounded by people that care? It would hardly make any sense, right?

The community grew, my emotional footing along with it, and next thing you know I'm in Poland reaffirming all my suspicions. Yes, just writing those words requires reflection. On my worse financial year ever, I saw Europe for the first time with a bunch of friends.

Do you see the point I'm trying to make? This has been an amazing year, painful at times, but nonetheless amazing.

In two more weeks


The year would be officially over and all of us will be celebrating the new year adorned with our cultural and personal traditions. But, as 2019 begins I start a new chapter and literally so. The slow waking up I've been partaking on, my re-found convictions for self fulfillment and personal happiness are being worn on my sleeves these days, and that is something I intend not to drown ever again.

So yeah... I'll be grateful for 2018, for breaking my back and for lifting me up once and for all...

Hope everyone has a beautiful day

Sort:  

So True…
A regular dose of brutally honest and acutely accurate introspection followed by suitably sensible actions - is essential to spiritual well-being, inner peace, and the completeness of fulfillment one can expect to experience going forward.

If we first reflect accurately in such manner - and then nobly and responsibly act upon such with humble diligence and resolve, - such a course of actions will often turn our most painful challenges into the future building blocks of success in realizing our true personal potential in life.

I’ve watched what you’ve gone through and how you’ve handled it over the past year, Meno. You are indeed a warrior with a most optimistic, kind, and beautiful brave-heart!

Wishing you every bit of success, joy, and happiness as you forge ahead into 2019 and beyond.

Happy Holiday’s to you and all of the Family, my brother!

Much Love, Brother Meno
@passion-ground

thank you brother.. Happy Holidays to you too..

As the phrase says...
Isn't in the calm waters that will be created the most skilled sailors.
For me, 2018 was a hard year but with a lot of good things. One of them, is the totally understand of how the Steem works.
Thanks for sharing
Cheers!

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

As they say, “what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger,” and with the learnings and perspective of experience the journey will be better forward. It’s all about the journey and not the destination!

Posted using Partiko iOS

simple yet powerful truths my friend

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :) | For investors.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Nice thoughts man! :)

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.110 which ranks you at #271 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 262).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76