An important conversation..

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)
I must have been around ten years old or so, I can't exactly remember. One of my uncles, my youngest uncle, was talking to me about his relationship with his brothers, more specifically with his older brother, my father. Maybe, as you read those lines you might be wondering why I would talk about my family, after all this is the immutable blockchain, but, I've been pretty transparent with who I am, almost from day one, and this is one of those memories that shaped my understanding of the world.
img src

It's somewhat tragic that many families have resentments that never quite get worked out, or at least it's tragic to me. I've had people tell me they are completely OK with not talking to their own blood, and as much as it's hard for me to empathize, I can sympathize with that mindset. My uncle's story is in my view one of those that never got a resolution, never got aired out enough even.

It's also no secret that the dynamics between the youngest sibling and the oldest are complex, with layers of parental behaviors, role model shaping, all weaved between play time and cradles immaturity. But, the complex fabric is not necessarily negative, and maybe more times than most its not.

Being a middle child has meant, at least for me, that I've ridden in the chair of observance for most of my life, and maybe some of my fascination with human behavior comes from those early years. I've also been someone to ask lot's of questions, almost with no regard for the emotionally charged response I was about to receive.

So there I was, listening to music with my uncle who in my eyes was an old man already, someone who remained stoic and in control at all times, although the concept of stoic was quite abstract still. I asked him why he did not like my father, why they did not get along?

What a crazy little question, what a terrible position did I put my uncle in. On the one hand he did not want to hurt his nephew's feelings with honesty, but on the other, he did not want to lie. Being the bright man that he is, he explained a particular aspect of his relationship dynamics that to this day resonates with me.

I'm going to paraphrase most of it, because it's been decades and I don't posses a photographic memory unfortunately. However, I'm sure the message has remained true.

"There has been plenty of times when I needed a brother, when I needed a friend, someone who understood me, who would help me. I never thought that was something I had to ask for, and I don't know if help is valid if I ask for it, I'm not sure... if you see me struggling, and you are family, would it not be natural for you to want to help? if I ask, and you help, does it mean the same? He's my older brother, but... he's also just him"

To my young mind this conversation got tattooed into memory. The understanding of what he meant however has continued to evolve over the years and today it's got ten times more depth, than when I first heard him talk about my father.

What have I learnt? What can I extract from this? I'm not sure entirely, but the exploration is somewhat personal and I'm sure a big part of me has been projected onto the memory over the years. However, here is what I can currently say about it safely, and I mean safely as me saying this without the fear of being wrong in the near future.

The human ego is so complex, so powerful and the same time so fragile, that it allows us to climb mountains while at the same time be defeated by a hypothetical. I saw, at an early stage mind you, the fracturing of a family, of two siblings, because they never learnt to speak with sincerity to each other in protection of their own egos. Today, decades later, without one single word being uttered into a piece of technology they live thousands of miles away in peace with the thought of never seeing or hearing from each other again. If that is not tragic, then we don't share the definition.

So what to conclude? What should I do? I guess, my best attempt, and that is about it. I sincerely think that if we would not succumb to the mirages of ego, to the idea that it's so weak that it needs bullet proof glass at all times. Often in conversations with friends, I find that most of us spend a considerable amount of energy protecting it, as if the idea of us, of who we are, is really that fragile.

And as I lower my guard in fear, but do so just the same, I remember this event, these events and ask myself, am I really that unaware of what I am?

Sort:  

Great read @meno and the when you mentioned that two brothers are quite happy not seeing each other again hit me more than I would of thought. A sense of panic maybe. I'm not sure . We also have to consider the older generation as well . Emotions are not thrown about like nowadays. The older generations kept their emotions in check. My dad told me a story once that his brother closest to his age (he had 5 brothers) didn't talk to him growing up. They played football together but never a word spoken. On my dads 19th birthday his brother spoke to him and asked him to be his best man at his wedding. My dad was confused as he thought his brother hated him. From that day on they were always talking. This was back in the 50's but imagine the relationship and its complexities.Crazy. Would you ever try to get them talking again? I'm sure both would like to say some words?

I tried many years ago to make them talk... both of them could not care less...

This is a tough one I relate with as I was not only the youngest but my brothers were at least 8 years older than me so instead of having a friend which I certainly needed at many points in life, I had bullies or persons that ignored me no matter what. However, this also formed me into an independent person that had little reliance to do things alone. I was the only one to go to college and the first to get a degree and what I can so far call a successful career. Therefore, I would say I was not negated of anything. However, then I look at my spouse whom has a deeply engaging relationship with her brother and sister which are also in a way, her best friend. She actively engages with them on a daily basis and this has been interesting to watch as it makes me think of the possibilities of a different relationship with my family. Maybe it is a reason why I have found this experience on #STEEM so fascinating or not... Deeps thoughts to consider for sure...

Wow.

As for me, I think my siblings and I are just great. We aren't exactly best friends though, but I do know I'd stick for them. Whenever I can and I think they'd do the same. As we grow older and things begin to cloud our thoughts and take our attention, conversations have waned. It's like there isn't much to discuss about on a daily basis. I do enjoy the occasional few minutes of catching up though.

Posted using Partiko Android

tokens or no tokens, this whole thing is a deep exploration into ourselves. In that sense, we started winning almost right away. :)

What we are is so inconsequential to who we are and vice versa. Clearly he didn't consider that maybe his older brother didn't know he needed help, which only speaks on the role model your grandfather and grandma impressed on to your dad and in turn onto your uncle, and your father didn't know that his younger brother didn't know how to ask, he could have been completely oblivious if he was raised to "suck it up", and that's why the resentment exists, and your dad might think that he didn't do anything to deserve the resentment yet it's probably such a tangled mess of needless blame that he'd recoil from anything your uncle says about it with the same attitude of "dealing with you own stuff" which closes itself from reaching out and in turn from being approachable. They need to mediate through that it seems if they are to heal those feelings, because its the story of one walled in person and one mute outsider trying to reach one another.

Brilliant Baah... amazing reasoning... sometimes you literally surprise in the best of ways with your logical breakdowns.

Have you seen Iyanla Fix My Life, she reminds me a lot of me, always asking Why and How, the dreaded questions I'd shut my dad up with. They have some full free episodes on YouTube where they flip\mirror the video so it's outside the copyright lawyer's reach, really good observations and a load of patience.

Ima look it up.. never seen those vids, no.

Thankfully we learned from kids that we need to help each other out and that family is important. Growing up and seeing my parents be kind and awesome towards everyone and trying their best i think it's natural to have those ideas and mentality buried into my head.

That's the reason if someone needs my help and asks i will gladly help him. Especially if someone face a problem that just wanna share it i am all ears and i will listen to him offering advises if he/she wants to.

The hard thing for me to do is to help anyone. I don't respect everyone the same so if someone who i completely disrespect or i know what kind of person is asks for my help then i will really consider it...

Yes, our friend Baah here made some good points that also are very connected to your own experience. Your parents imprinted other values on you, my mother is a supermom and I owe a lot who I am to her, but its obvious my father's upbringing had some shortcomings, at least in my subjective opinion.

I almost never speak to my brother. Only at family reunions and get togethers. Part of the problem is that we have practically nothing in common. So I barely know him. I'm quite certain he's turned out to be someone I wouldn't recognize at all...

And that's probably for the best... it's sad, what potential there was... but it was squandered... I have had to actively avoid thinking of him for so long, that it finally has become a reflex. He's just not there in my mind, most of the time...

shrug Just another fish in the sea... rinse, repeat, retread...

I understand you, I do... I hope me sharing this does not seem judgemental, it's not meant to be.

I just find it tragic, that's all. I guess its hard for me to imagine a life without mine, as we are super close.

It's sad, what you describe. But so common.

People compete against their nearest and dearest, often because when they were very young, they competed for their parents' attention. And that programmed competition is so ingrained, it never stops. And it's poisonous and pointless.

Because if you think about it, the world is big, the world is wide, the world is relentless, the world is chaotic and random, it never stops, and those you are raised with, those you know best and those you love, can form a united front to cope together with that relentless crazy world.

To instead fight a civil war, when this bigger chaos surrounds you, is self-defeating, throwing away your best allies for the sake of pointless competition and unrewarding pride.

But that is what so many of us are programmed to do. We never look beyond our programming, and instead follow it into loneliness and alienation.

Everything you do on this platform suggests that you learned a different lesson, a better programming, maybe from your uncles words, that assists you in understanding that cooperation and building bridges is a better, deeper, wiser human response to life's risky random chaos.

You are totally aware of who you are, brother...
And as such, you are one in a million!
Just stay grounded, and the brass ring will surely follow...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80