You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The main reason to believe we are living in a simulation

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I'm surprised to read this now since I just wrote about beliefs earlier today. This simulation aspect is actually one thing I have read about and discussed with my friends and don't know if I should believe in it or not. I decided to leave it out from my post, since it would have taken the post to another world & level and thought my point could have been missed.

Anyway, interesting topic. Do you think that the simulation could be programmed all the way from the beginning to the end of it? So that our actions didn't matter too much because everything is meant to happen in an exact way. I think that's what makes the idea of simulation comforting since in that case it takes away the risk -about which you wrote.

This idea also makes me feel a bit anxious.. It's somehow sad to think that I'm only one character in this huge simulated game in which I am ordered to play..

Sort:  

I decided to leave it out from my post, since it would have taken the post to another world & level and thought my point could have been missed.

Don't all belief systems do this?

I think that's what makes the idea of simulation comforting since in that case it takes away the risk -about which you wrote.

I think that is what the comfort of a god is too. People seem to discount that an all knowing god already knows where it all goes. This means that there is no free will as it is predestined.

It's somehow sad to think that I'm only one character in this huge simulated game in which I am ordered to play..

It could also free you to reach your full potential too.

It's true that some might think this idea is freeing, but ain't also kind of sad that all this is in some others hands (=simulated in a computers hard drive) and there's not much we can do. I don't even know myself what to think about this..

most of the world believes in a creator of some kind or another yet, don't see the similarities.

I have never believed in a creator really.. and this sure is similar to all the ideas about gods and others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31