You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A positive take on our current world and the concept of “paradise”

in #philosophy6 years ago

We too often take our freedoms and access for granted. You are so right in that right now we have so much information available to us that there is no reason to not know something. I remember a time, not long ago, when I'd have a question and think, "Who do I know that would be able to answer this?" Now I just google it.

It's kind of sad.

But it's also incredibly powerful. I could learn absolutely everything I want to simply by researching it on my phone. I can learn on the beach, or in a storm, or while driving or working. We have limitless information at our fingertips.

But...

Somehow, the majority of the people seem drawn to non-intellectual pursuits. We want to know what the Kardashians are wearing, or who won the ball game, or which meme is the hottest at the moment. We compete for likes and shares instead of having intense discussions about who we are and why we are.

I love this age. It has so much potential. But we also have a lot of growing up to do before we recognize just how incredible all this freedom and access really is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69