You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Philosophers #1 - Socrates

in #philosophy7 years ago

I find it telling that Socrates didn't author his own story. I also find it telling that the word die or death didn't exist in the form it does today. Today we think of death as the end of life. Back than they thought of death as a new beginning.

Thus the idea "I know nothing"also cannot be understood until one examines Socrates method of questioning. To me his questioning always discovered the lack of knowledge people used to create beliefs.

The lack of knowledge that Socrates was always revealing was his own lack of knowledge in regards to the person he was questioning. Know thyself is the key in this.

Socrates knew himself, but lacked knowledge of the other person he was discoursing with and is why he would say "I know nothing". It is after all a recognition that the only knowledge worthy of effort is that knowledge which allows you to know thyself.

That is where Socrates shined as a human being. One could not discourse with him without becoming intimate with ones own self. If you ask me that was the entire point to his method of questioning. A beautiful way of sharing the most important knowledge (wisdom) a person could seek.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply, which is very enlightening. Knowing that someone took the time to read what I've written and even answer me is beyond what I could've expected for a first post c: !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71141.42
ETH 3848.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48