The Psychedelic Experience

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

..:: The Psychedelic experience ::..

One of my favorite philosophers and psychonauts (along side with Timothy Leary) changed my life couple a years ago and I want you to tell why in this series.

But before I start I want you to know him better, here's a snippet :

Terence McKenna (November 16, 1946 – April 3, 2000) was an American philosopher, ethnobotanist, psychonaut, lecturer, writer and author who spend much of his life speaking and writing about a variety of subjects, including but not limited by shamanism, psychedelic drugs, plant-based entheogens, alchemy, metaphysics, language, culture, environmentalism, technology and the nature of human consciousness.

Here we go...

Since I was a little child I always wanted to know what was happening inside my consciousness / my head. I had always a funny feeling that some input was missing and my reality wasn't everything I experienced.

I become fascinated by television, computers and of course the Internet. I could say that those things pulled me in and gave some good and bad things.

“Stop consuming images and start producing them.”

This is one of my favorite quotes from McKenna. I suffered years from lack of creativity because of watching too much TV. I wanted to create my own reality, to feel my own thoughts/experiences not someones else's. At the same time I saw beautiful places and people via screen, who also started to visit me in my dreams. Everything became so connected and time / distance lost its importance.

Systematic school education and police state didn't do any good for me when I was little. They repressed my true nature and who I really was. I become depressed and lost appetite for life, thus felling asleep for years.

“You simply have to turn your back on a culture that has gone sterile and dead and get with the program of a living world and the imagination.”

After finishing High school I entered to the University where I had my first true experience with Cannabis. After that I become more aware of my surroundings and my inner self. I also started to read more and listening to music. Suddenly I stumbled upon Terence and my trip began.

“Half the time you think your thinking you’re actually listening.”

... to be continued

Sort:  

Reading McKenna changed my life too, just after high school. His book "Food of the Gods" introduced me to the concept of Dominator Drugs: those drugs which control people and dominate their lives: Alcohol, Heroin, Sugar, and the dominance drug par excellence, TELEVISION.

There is an emptiness in his thought though, and I didn't know just what it was until many years later. His sense of wonder was captivating, but it seemed that he refused to "go there"... to the place where you actually give the creator of the universe a Name.

Hi there. Thank you for your comment. It means alot :) . He was indeed a strange character and I actually forgot about him some time ago. Still, one of the greatest minds I've encountered

Sweet read dude, love the McKenna pic lol

Thanks bro :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61220.17
ETH 2979.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73