You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kindness of a Stranger & Paying it Forward!

in #philosophy6 years ago

Bless the gentlemen who all offered to share their shin pad with you...and Bless you for helping Betty in her time of great need. My eyes are not dry...I appreciate so much that you took the time to tell us this story so we can be inspired and know that there are so many good folks in this world despite how the media would like to portray humanity! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 Thank you for BEing the change!! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Sort:  

The media latches onto the worst of the worst for their stories as they are attempting to achieve shock value. Almost feel like if a news station took out the murders, rapes, and shootings (all daily occurrences in Chicago) and instead focused on the community builders, the stories of people giving time & money, and stories of everyday people who achieved great things against all odds they would do amazing.

Because at this point you can't shock me anymore. There is way to much horrific news that has been presented to me over the years and now it's just "noise".

Stories that I mentioned would shock people and inspire them. Show some young adults from the ghetto that are now successful (without sports or rap), how an education can get you out of the hood. Show young adults with "disabilities" who are successful. Show locals who became self made millionaires and how they did it. Give me stories like these and I'll start tuning into the news again.

Really do hope that the story can inspire just one act of kindness beyond what I did. More acts of kindness being done hopefully the more that will get paid forward.

Well, you put that just perfectly! I too cannot be shocked anymore, and hearing you say that makes me think there are a lot of others at this point too, or very close to this point...it brings me hope that we may be nearing the end of this dark age!!

What I fear is that as people are unable to be shocked by some horrific things...seriously when I hear about someone being rapped of all things it doesn't shock me...that things will be taken to the next level. When a scumbag POS that craves attention only gets a quick byline in the news and nobody pays attention to it where do they go next?

I seriously hope that it's not the case, but seems to be the way things have gone. Giving any attention to these people just isn't helping matters IMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33