You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is "Pro-Life" an Accurate Label?

in #philosophy8 years ago

Thank you for sharing your views. To be clear. I know abortion survivors. To use their personal stories is an appeal to emotion, not reason or logic. That said, in this example (a late term abortion), I would agree it is closer to murdering a fully-functioning human being. Also, this video seems to be more about this person's religious views (views I strongly held for most of my life, even working in full time ministry for 6 years), than about specific arguments of when life begins.

You say "you are ending a life purposefully" but also say "it would have become a life." There is a difference, right? Is two cells dividing into four a full "life"?

Life starts at conception.

This is your strongly held belief, correct? Can you help me understand it? Can you point me to something which is falsifiable that I could look to and by doing so come into agreement with you?

Even a doctor is charged if he harms the fetus in those early stages, he is charged as if it were recognized as a life.

That's a very good point. If the woman expected to have a child and the doctor deprived her of that future potential life, then that's a serious aggression against the wishes of the future mother. I'm not sure it's about cherry picking as much as it's about respecting the intent of individuals.

Thanks again for sharing your views.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67112.11
ETH 2610.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67