You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Esoterica, Magic, and other Unknown or perhaps Occulted concepts...

in #philosophy8 years ago

What role does human psychology and neuroscience play into all this? When you say things can't be measured, what about measurements concerning how humans can be primed to believe in completely fabricated "spiritual" experiences or how we, as a species, often put meaning to things when no such meaning exists due to our habit of pattern matching and labeling?

My current view is we'll discover much of what people perceive about what changes their reality really is their own perceptions at work. It's like being told the wine you're about to drink is really expensive and got a very high score. Your tastebuds actually respond differently.

Some books which have influenced me regarding human perceptions: Thinking, Fast and Slow and Predictably Irrational.

Sort:  
Loading...

Oh also... I wish that bitpay card would hurry up and get here. I may need to buy those books.

gyft.com purse.io Get them discounts :)

If you check them out, let me know what you think.

I added them to my list of recommended books. It is not very long. I truly only add ones there from people I respect and that I believe are likely to show me some things in a new way. I have your books there as well as this Principia Discordia that @alchemage recommended.

I did end up posting one of the weird ghost stories that my skepticism has not slain. I'd be interested to hear your insights and opinions on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55