You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The negotiable truth

in #philosophy7 years ago

Very good post sir,

As someone growing up in a family of low functioning sociopaths, (and possibly one psychopath), there are definitely different categories of 'liars'..

For those like my family - there is no remorse, or moral trauma. The only fear is being caught out. It's just purely a function to achieve a goal.

Then there are liars who lie from a motivation of fear. A fear of not appearing confident, as successful, mostly in peer or familial settings.

Which is completely different from the first category.

I turned away form my family as soon as I could (with one exception).

If you aren't in category one yourself, and surrounded by 'them', they will destroy you, sooner or later.

I am a compulsive truth teller - which brings it's own problems.- and especially in my family surroundings. Lamb to the slaughter, believe me.

Bizarrely though - I have had a pretty crazy life (look at my blog, its all true!)

The amount of times I have been looked at like I am a compulsive liar is quite astonishing- when talking about my experiences.

I presume that is due to the people accusing me of such, are liars themselves, and in shock that anyone could come up with such audacious lies... ?
( maybe they are jealous of the audacity, I dunno.)

Sort:  

I would say I have an NPD sufferer in my family which looks a little psychopathic in some ways. It is interesting how toxic an environment can become when there is even one around, let alone a few.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70