You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doing what others won't

in #philosophy7 years ago

@tarazkp Great post, and really great topic! I think 'certainty' and 'security' are simply illusions. We think we are more secure when we are working 9 to 5 jobs but the truth is that when someone else (employer) controls the strings we actually have even less control over our future. I now work as a freelancer but I used to work for a fortune 500 company so I have been on both sides and neither is easier than the other but what I do feel and I may be completely wrong is that there is no such thing as security and certainty. When we least expect it things happen that we never thought would happen, both good and bad and we got to get up and respond to the best of our ability.

Sort:  

Yes, I agree wholeheartedly with you that security is an illusion. I would suggest that it has also been 'hacked' and hijacked as a control mechanism. It is natural for us to look for security (physical) but this system i increasingly used to search for psychological and emotional stability. Once this is the hierarchy in play, it can be manipulated in numerous ways to dictate action and limit our range. The more we take responsibility for ourselves, the less control others have over us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60