New Way to Celebrate 4th of July

in #philosophy6 years ago



Fireworks For You!

It was close to fourth of July 2017 when we were driving on our way home. My son @futurefarmers noticed all the fireworks stands popping around the city with all their marketing schemes.

Look Nanay! Buy one get one free!

And other signs like


Buy one get 2nd half off


25% OFF


50% OFF

A Little History

Back in Texas, we had fireworks for 4th of July. It was fun watching them pop and shoot out to the sky. The neighbors had a competition going of who had the best display and who had the loudest.

Our dogs didn't like 4th of July at all, nor did @futurefarmers. It was his first fireworks experience and he cried. So Daddy popped the fireworks and I was inside the house watching with my baby. He preferred it that way. The dogs stayed in the shop and they preferred it that way.

The next morning, the remnants of last night's fireworks are on everybody's yards.

Back to July 2017

We told this story to @futurefarmers. Now that he's older, he enjoys watching the fireworks. The littler ones do enjoy the fireworks from afar inside the house. And while we were in the truck waiting for the the gas tank filled, we were having a conversation.

futurefarmers: Can we get some fireworks, Mom?

lovenfreedom: Are you sure? Do you know how much the big fireworks cost? And the littlest ones, the sparkles?

futurefarmers: No.

iamstan: People can spend anywhere between 100 to a few thousand dollars for fireworks. I used to do it.

lovenfreedom: Whooooa... I don't think we're buying any fireworks. I don't think so. That's like burning 100-dollar bill and seeing it pop to the sky in front of you. WHOOO $100 WHOOO $50

The End of Fireworks For Us

And that ladies and gentlemen is the definite end of buying fireworks for our family.

The last fireworks we popped was a really old one hubby stashed from Texas. Since we got married, we didn't buy any fireworks since he had some stash from back when.

Every time we go to those fireworks stands and ask how much one cost, it was just too expensive it wasn't justifiable to buy one. We'll buy food instead. Or buy plants for the homestead or save it for solar panels.

The New Way To Celebrate 4th of July

We watch our neighbors pop fireworks while we shout the dollar amount we think it cost for them to give us a good show.



WHOOOO a thousand dollars!!!

All images from Pixabay

Join Us On Discord.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I said the same thing this week when my kids asked. We can see all the surrounding counties and thats good enough for me! I'd rather not burn my money.

Golly yeah, that's a fancy way of burning money.

We don't celebrate any federal/special holidays since they're mostly for businesses to generate more profit...

Exactly and it’s pretty crazy. What are we celebrating anyway?

Yeah, I haven't bought fireworks in I don't know how long.

We live across the river from a firing range, so my animals no longer react much to gun shots, but I've never been into wasting money, and at this point, looking at the hornets nets that is our government, I'm saving my money to celebrate things that are far more meaningful to me.

I'm originally from Florida where we have year round fireworks. I once worked at one of the local firework stores called Sky King that was in town. After seeing the prices of the fireworks in the owners wholesale catalog I will never buy fireworks ever again. It is a SCAM! Buy one get one? Buy one get 2? SCAM!!! It is all rigged to make you think you are getting something for free.

The mark up is 200 to 250% on fireworks. Big 500 gram finale pieces that cost anywhere from $150 to $250 cost the owner a whole $1 to $2 a piece (depending on which item). Firecrackers, sparklers, bottle rockets, all cost pennies.

Fireworks are peoples money going up in flames. LITTERALY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67