You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem of Evil (POE)

in #philosophy5 years ago

If an action is willed, if an action is intentional, then it has a goal.

If your actions are intentional, you are taking action for a REASOn.

That REASOn CAUSES your intentional action.

Therefore, your action is not FREE.

You do not choose your desires (your will serves your desires).

You do not choose your beliefs (you only believe what you are CONVINCED of).

I don't believe in freewill because I'm not CONVINCED it's logically coherent.

Please save your post-hoc emotional appeals (bit of colour) for another occasion.

Sort:  

That was quite the harangue. To whom do you think it was truly aimed?

I am going to make this my last comment to you on this matter because I intend to post about my current concept of free will rather soon.

If the reason is your choice, the action is free. But, I don't even know why we are using words such as action or reason. This is an over complication of a simple concept. Free will, is "the freedom to choose." We don't have to say "the freedom to choose a reason so that we can have an action that is free." It's just.. too many useless words which can then be used to confuse the issue.

I am not entirely sure what you mean by our will serves our desires. But I know that my will conflicts my desires. It seems to me, someone can have only one will, but many desires, and often their desires serve as a mere consolation prize for not realising their will.

I also disagree that you cannot choose your beliefs. We have a tool named logic that we use for exactly this purpose; to convince ourselves of whatever it is we want to believe. Some of us are better logicians than others. And some of us are just better at lying to ourselves, and don't even hold a reasonable narrative for our beliefs. But, ultimately, we are all constantly choosing our beliefs.

I see not what you consider emotional, but I care not either. I always say what I want to say, that won't change. My comment about colour was suggesting that you use this magnificent gift - the ability to choose what you believe, to add more colour to your world. In a symbolic sense of course. I mean only that you've reduced your reality to the least you can convince yourself it is. Why?

If the reason is your choice, the action is free.

The whole point is that you don't choose your desires.

YOu also don't choose your circumstances.

But I know that my will conflicts my desires.

Of course, because you have a hierarchy of desires. You desire some short term comfort and some long term comfort. You don't "choose" which desire you "want more", but your will manifests your most powerful subconscious desire.

I also disagree that you cannot choose your beliefs. We have a tool named logic that we use for exactly this purpose; to convince ourselves of whatever it is we want to believe.

You can't "choose" to believe in Santa Claus, can you?

You can only believe what you are convinced of.

Logic is a tool to find critical errors in systems. It is not a tool for manufacturing false beliefs.

I see not what you consider emotional,

Here's an example, "why do you hate Santa Claus so much? If you believed in Santa Claus, you're life would be so much happier (and filled with colourz)!!

"You must be soooo depressed without Santa Claus in your life!! (you poor sad little lost soul)."

Anyway, do you see the "appeal to emotion" now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40