You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Ava Conscious? An Evaluation of the Movie Ex Machina

in #philosophy7 years ago

Wow! I am truly amazed that you posted this because earlier today I was considering making a post around the question of whether Data, the android on Star Trek: The Next Generation, should be considered sentient or not.

Yesterday I read a few of your posts and realized that I think you and I have similar interests and thought processes, and this confirms it! Talk about a synchronicity!

My thoughts on the question of Ava's consciousness and humanity: The behavior she exhibited of following the prime directive at all costs, even senseless murder, definitely seems like a trait of an AI at first glance. However, humans have been known to do crazy things to reach their primary objective, with seemingly no regard for what it takes to get there. I think of how people with a true substance addiction are guided heavily by the longing for the drug, as if it is a virtual rope they are attached to, being pulled around and through all sorts of obstacles.

That's how I imagine Ava's experience of being destined to go to the intersection. I imagine "her" being pulled by an invisible force to the destination.

I am sort of rambling, but your post inspired alot of thoughts! I am not ready to say that humans are completely free of programmed destiny or that AIs are void of consciousness and humanity.

There are too many questions and factors to consider.

One day we'll know....

Sort:  

Also, I am very interested in watching this movie now, even though I know what will happen. If you haven't, you should watch "Robot and Frank." It is a beautiful movie that touches on some of the same questions.

You should definitely write that article about "Data," It sounds interesting.
I see what you are saying about Ava being guided to the intersection. That makes sense. However, the fact that she leaves Caleb trapped in the compound to die says a lot for me. It suggests that she was imitating empathy the whole time but did not actually experience it.

Oh yeah, that was pretty disconcerting. I know a couple of humans who are pretty good at feigning empathy without actually feeling anything on the inside, too.

Yeah I'm pretty sure i know some people like that as well :S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44