You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hate begets Hate, Apathy begets Nothingness, and You too can have a Hamster Wheel

in #philosophy8 years ago

Great post! Nice original art!

I've heard we are all at least 50th cousins to each other. We should just throw a big party and invite all the relatives, lol. I hope the 1960's flower power mentality comes back - we need to spread a little love around. :)

Sort:  

My parents were both Hippies and while my mother can be quite intolerant as she embraced religion a lot more later in life, in my very early years I still remember all of the Peace, Love, and Flower Power atmosphere of the time. I am certain that flavors some of my thought.

Though I do not believe that is the ultimate solution either, though it is far better than war and hate. I believe that Peace, Love, and Flower Power work fine as a subset of the Non-Aggression Principle. The NAP covers things well. It does not mean I will not defend myself. It means I will not initiate aggression. Aggression and defense are considered two different things.

So I'll practice Peace, Love, and Flower power... but if I'm attacked I'll defend myself completely and do my best to make sure that source cannot attack me again.

EDIT: On a positive note. I like your idea for a party for all of our cousins.

Great post. My $0.03: aggression vs defense - it is violence vs force thing. Initiation of violence is against NAP, force is simply responding to that violence appropriately. I think non-aggression principle is worded better by, instead "do no harm", saying "stop harm from happening". Then it covers both sides of the equation. Do not initiate violence and do not let violence happen to you. Violence is violence and no matter what direction it flows it does harm. I also heard it expressed colorfully as "do no harm, take no shit" :)

The only problem I have with "stop harm from happening" is that opens the door in the mind of some for preemptive aggression. Which can often be attacking someone because something MIGHT happen.

No victim, no crime, therefore preemptive aggression should not be acceptable.

Yet other than that concern I agree. Thanks for the reply.

Valid concern, and I acknowledge that "stop harm from happening" is not the best worded expression. Maybe simple "make peace"...? :)

Yes. Unfortunately I am uncertain that everyone truly comprehends what Peace means. "Make peace" works if the people understand peace and have not subjectified it to something not quite right. We already see people that endorse FREE SPEECH as long as you saw what they want to hear. When you do not, then they advocate censoring you. It is the hypocrisy that seems to be breeding like weeds all over the place these days.

Person A says "Don't do X it is bad and evil!!!!" Something doesn't go the way they want and they do X. Hypocrisy.

With mentality like that I am fairly certain they would not quite understand the term Peace. Or perhaps they do understand, they just do not believe the things they say should apply to them. I am not like that so I truly do not comprehend why they are hypocritical, I can only guess and speculate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65