You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @mindhunter Discusses: Is Alan Watts A Great Philosopher? Mmmmm ... Not A Toughie!

in #philosophy7 years ago

I am unsure of the motives of Alan Watts. He was the reason that I found G.K. Chesterton, so I thank him for that. He was a very good illustrator of certain types of arguments. I find, though, that he was too much a master of the double bind, which does not serve to teach, but only paralyzes the mind. The 'can't know' aspect of Buddhism seems weaponized to me, turning it into an entertaining cul-de-sac, a diversion from ever progressing. He was also heavily connected to culture manipulation intelligence programs., not that this is a new thing in relation to philosophers down through the ages. https://webbrain.com/brainpage/brain/6FBA86B0-0C57-9FCA-5CF9-D742DA541AAA#-1658

Sort:  

Paralysis of the mind - I like that imagery @lifeworship - I do share all your sentiments there. I always found his followers almost Scientology-like. It scares me!

Some works are good to study to know how NOT to think. I find that reading too much with which I am already inclined to agree makes my mind lazy. It is in the mistakes that the right path is made clear.

'Adversity is the trial of principle. Without it, a man hardly knows whether he is honest or not.' Henry Fielding

Now you know why I'm avoiding Watts at all costs - at the moment it's Proust and Camus before bed.

My fellow sentiments! Disagreement sparks far more fires than it's counterpart!

"I never learned from a man who agreed with me." - Robert A. Heinlein

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49