You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lies for a better child

in #philosophy6 years ago

It is impossible for a parent not to brainwash their children - we present to them our views of the world, telling them they're the right views because that's what we believe. I do that and so will you.
The trick is to allow them to challenge our ideas, to allow them to talk freely, to accept they might be right and even change your own ideas.

Sort:  

The trick is to allow them to challenge our ideas, to allow them to talk freely, to accept they might be right and even change your own ideas.

This is the part most people tend to forget, being challenged on long-held beliefs never feels good perhaps but, I am not raising my child to end up like me and maybe, she can challenge me and help me improve my views. Here's to hoping.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87