You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I swear, by the moon and the #@?%!

in #philosophy7 years ago

I don't even understand people that don't swear, I find them quite strange and I'm even a little afraid of what they're not saying. God knows what they might be thinking.
I see no harm in children hearing "4-letter words" and learning when it is appropriate to use them and when it is not! What I hate most is parents that swear, but immediately punish their children when the hear them saying the same thing. What kind of logic is that?

Sort:  

I wonder if we are just excusing our swearing so we don't have to stop... :)

I agree though. I am going to do my best to not hide who I am from our daughter by pretending to be what I am not or punishing her for not being what I am unable to be myself.

I don't think so. The kids we're raising today are the adults we'd like to be comfortable around tomorrow. If you don't have a problem with your best friend swearing and you have fun together, one day you'll be able to have that same good time with your daughter!
On the other hand, you may try to refrain from saying certain words in front of your child, but one day she will inevitably hear you saying Fuck and she will discover hypocrisy in you...that would be worse I think!

Yes... It must get awkward for lots of people to keep track of all the parts they must hide and lie about. All the sex, drugs and rock n' roll and then saying 'I never'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45