Sweet Cheeses!

in #philosophy7 years ago

Alright, a cheap shot, but I've been wanting to use that title for a while. It ties in somewhat with what I want to address this week- choices.

We all have choices to make that will drive us along certain paths and from there additional choices emerge. I used to love those "pick your own adventure" books and would read every possible iteration of the story. How one would write a story so that certain plotlines would converge and then diverge again always intrigued me. While I don't have a time machine (sorry guys!) to check whether my other choices would've brought me to this same point again, I can say with fair certainty that certain choices were absolutely pivotal and lead to a point of no return, causing my paths to diverge.

One notices these pivotal moments by "The Feeling" as Phoebe from Friends described it. I'm kidding. It's often the choices that we make lightly and without much effort that become these pivotal moments in our lives and we only realise this later.

One of my moments involved cheese. My mother hated anything but sweet and mild cheese while my grand would buy a camembert and let it rot to the point where the cheese is all mushy inside and then eat it. The former wasn't adventurous while the second disgusts me endlessly. One day, on a whim, when I was 22 or so, I tried some cheese. Not the rancid shit my grandmother would eat, but also more cultured (yes, another cheap shot) than my mother's cheese. I'm not even sure which cheese it was that I tried because it is so insignificant, but it was a turning point in my life. It was one of the first times I chose to break out of my food comfort zone to explore the great yumminess that is the world. I have met great people over plates of cheese that I would have ordinarily avoided, all because I bit into a piece of cheese all those years ago.

Basically, choose the theme you want to stick to, identify the core features, and incorporate that into your daily life. Who knows, maybe your cheese is right around the corner.

image
Batbag likes statues, and boobs. So he reaches for the things he likes. Be like #Batbag>quote

Cheesy? You bet!

Cheers
L

Sort:  

Congratulations @l73217! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57684.49
ETH 2343.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36